Ten Facts About Being Trans

As a 62 year old trans woman, here’s what I’ve realized

Emma Holiday
Gender From The Trenches

--

Graphic: Martie Sirois

Over the last three years since my gender dysphoria exploded out of my soul (after 62 years), I have come up with my personal top 10 transgender facts:

1. Gender is how you were hardwired in utero, and sex is the physical genitalia you were born with.

2. You are cisgender if your gender matches your sex assigned at birth. Transgender is when they do not match.

3. Being trans is a biological condition that can lead to positive outcomes with trans-affirming healthcare. Being trans is not a mental disorder. Gender dysphoria is a symptom of gender suppression, and it can be treated. It’s like a red warning sign that gets worse over time. Non-treatment of gender dysphoria can lead to worsening depression and emotional pain. It can even lead to suicide.

2. Being trans is not a choice. For example, in trans people who are assigned male at birth, it is hardwired before birth, and then gets buried under layers of male hormones, male socialization, gender programming and personal denial.

3. The problem is that gender dysphoria does not go away as you get older. It just gets stronger as…

--

--

Emma Holiday
Gender From The Trenches

After decades of denial I finally answered the question “What’s wrong with me?” The answer is “Nothing”. I am transgender and I am OK.