The “Trans Agenda” Wasn’t Really Working Out For Me

That is, until I read a copy of the actual liberal/gay/trans agenda

Martie Sirois
Gender From The Trenches

--

Image: mixkit.co/@nxtantonia

At various points over the past three years, since writing something that unexpectedly went viral, a few thoughtful internet strangers have taken the time to reach out and tell me that I’m “pushing an agenda.” Usually they call it a “liberal agenda,” but I’ve also been told I’m pushing a “transgender agenda,” and a “gay agenda.” (Those are not my only alleged agendas, but… you get the idea).

One gentle drifter was so deeply moved with conviction that he actually faulted me for the “downfall of America.” I almost felt flattered — like, wow, I must be important or something! But then again, I don’t really think he meant me specifically. I’m not certain, but I think he meant “you” in general, as in, “you libruls.”

It quickly became evident that he and I had different ideas of what might constitute the downfall of a society, specifically, a democracy like the United States. Whereas I view societal collapse as the result of a cruel, tyrannical dictator coming into power, scapegoating innocent people, and driving a wedge between an otherwise harmonious (or at least tolerant) culture, my transient internet pal, Josh, views societal collapse as a result of civil rights expansions for marginalized…

--

--

Martie Sirois
Gender From The Trenches

Covering the intersection of culture, politics & equality. Featured in Marker, HuffPost, PopSugar, Scary Mommy; heard on NPR, SiriusXM, LTYM, TIFO podcast, etc.