Why I’m Getting Top Surgery

From a transmasculine nonbinary individual’s perspective.

theoaknotes
Gender From The Trenches

--

My top surgery is less than 24 hours away. Let’s all take a moment to process that information. [Deep breaths.] Alright, cool. I’m moderately concerned about post-operative depression, and I have not come across many resources for nonbinary individuals on this subject. In order to combat any potential anxiety or depression around the permanent change I will be making to my body tomorrow, and to help out the next soon-to-be (or recently) de-breasted kid, I’ve curated a list of reasons why I’m having this procedure.

Let’s start with a few practical, corporal reasons:

  • Not having to bind my breasts in order to feel safe enough or confident enough to leave my bedroom
  • No longer hurting my posture, breathing, and skin from binding
  • Not having to plan my days and outfits around binding
  • Not worrying about my binder being visible or creasing my outfits
  • No longer being (mis)gendered because of my breasts
  • No longer disassociating or being overcome with gender dysphoria at the sight of a chest that doesn’t match what I envision

--

--

theoaknotes
Gender From The Trenches

Black, queer, and anxiously fabulous. Words: Jessica Kingsley Publishers, Psychology Today, An Injustice!, Prism & Pen, Gender from the Trenches.