Gender Gap

Introduction

Gila Pacheco
Gender Gap
3 min readSep 18, 2019

--

When I started my studies in this career in a classroom of 34 students, there were only 6 females. After I graduated and started my first job, I was one of only 2 females in an area of 22 males. The years passed and I think the gap is closing, at least in number of people working on the technology area, but

  • What about the Gap at the level of salary? or
  • What about the Gap at Job Satisfaction?
  • is it the Gap same on other countries?

In the company were I’m currently working, I think we are more female than male in the department, but what about other technology departments? is it the same or no?

I used data from Stackoverflow’s 2018 Annual Developer survey, to answer my questions.

The data contains around 19,000 respondents with more than 150 questions, Let’s keep in mind that this survey doesn’t have the information from all the developers in the world, still; we can use it and analyse the results. Let’s see below after some deep analysis the results I found.

Which Gender gets the better Salary as a Developer?

The Gender who gets the better salary in all the countries that participate in the survey was Male, but the Gap is not big, because is followed very close by Female and Female Transgender.

See below the graphic which show you how the Gap is closing.

Which Gender gets better Job Satisfaction as a Developer?

The Male Transgender is the one who gets a higher job satisfaction followed very close by Male-other. I would like to highlight that in overall the Jobs Satisfaction is very close for all genders. It seems that almost every Developer that participated in the survey is quite happy in their current job.

See the graphic there is almost no difference or Gap between the genders and in overall the satisfaction is very good.

What is the main gender that works as a Developer?

The main gender that works as a developer is Male, which is followed very close by Female, then Female Transgender and Non- Conforming. I’m not surprise, because I witnessed these changes over the years.

See the graphic, there again the gap is closing.

Conclusion

The results from my point of view are very positive results, because it means this is not the Male career anymore. When I started to study I was told that I should study something more feminine like teacher or nurse. Luckily my parents didn’t oppose, and told me to study what I like.

As you can see I’m very happy that the gap is closing at least in the Development environment and who knows in years to come it may not exist any longer.

I hope you find this information useful and instructive.

--

--