The 4th Sexual Orientation: Did Evolution Leave Footprints in the Sand?

Geoff Pilkington
The ‘F’ Word
Published in
9 min readAug 9, 2016

--

Yes, I’m thinking what you’re thinking. I’ll tell you this. I was mind-blown when I first heard about asexuality. Last week I discussed the mysteries surrounding ADHD and how it is something we as a public are not very educated about. This week I’m going to take you on another journey of human curiosity, interest, and mystery. Just recently someone mentioned this newly recognized (as in the last 15 years) sexual orientation termed “asexuality.” My reaction? Confusion. Intrigue. But mostly incessant curiosity. Upon my immediate sparked interest I jumped online and spent endless hours (in my typical ADHD hyper-focused state) researching this not much talked about new frontier in human eroticism (or lack thereof). You see, apparently there is a coming of a new era in sexuality. It was first noted around the turn of the century. And it’s growing fast. It’s rather intriguing that that mass media and humanity as a whole seem to focus mostly on the main three which are:

  1. Heterosexuality: sex with the opposite sex
  2. Homosexuality: sex with the same sex
  3. Bisexuality: sex with both sexes

But just know there is a mysterious 4th orientation under the sexuality umbrella, one that is slowly yet steadily gaining steam and making headlines, a newly recognized…

--

--

Geoff Pilkington
The ‘F’ Word

CEO of Launch Industries, Blogger, Podcast Host, Actor, Filmmaker, Futurist, Tech Enthusiast, Social Media Expert, and Content Creator. Personality Type: ENTP