Words by Gender

Warning: this post contains ‘unlady–like’ language.

Roxie Ablett

--

‘Ladies shouldn’t use the C-word’. Yes, this was said out loud. To woman. By a man. In 2013*. It was mansplaining at its finest. Oh, and by ‘the C-word’ he means ‘cunt’.

Before I go any further, I want to point out that I do not refer to the vagina as a ‘cunt’ in everyday life. I do use it as an insult, though. I use it considerably flippantly at times, too, but only around the right people. I wouldn’t dream of saying it around some of my family, but that’s because I respect the fact they don’t like the word, not because ‘ladies’ shouldn’t use it. Let’s be honest, it’s the best word in the world when you’ve painfully stubbed my toe on the bottom of an obnoxious door frame.

I understand that the ‘C-word’ is deemed vulgar to some, but to say that gender dictates whether or not you can use a word is ridiculous and infuriating. What infuriated me the most was the fact that ‘cunt’ refers to a vagina. A woman’s body part and, unless I’ve been missing something my whole life, I’m a woman and I have a vagina. Despite this, a man was telling me that I shouldn’t use the word ‘cunt’ because I happen to have one. But he could use it because he didn’t. You’d think the fact that I have a ‘cunt’ gives me more of a right to use the word, but no, not according to this guy.

Not only was this an outdated, sexist remark, but the people (mostly women may I add) who were in earshot looked at me as if I was overreacting as I shared my discontent. It actually made me doubt myself for a split-second, but I soon realised that this guy needed to step out of the 1800s and have a stern word with himself. Women now have most of rights and opportunities that past generations fought so hard for. So, why isn’t it still more frowned upon for women to use foul language than men?

As for that guy — what a cunt!

*This post is an updated version. I first published it in 2013 and decided it needed a little tweaking.

--

--

Roxie Ablett

Lover of good coffee, fairy tales and folklore, and all things Angela Carter. I write, edit, study and read.