Veronica Soto
Gender Theory
Published in
2 min readNov 30, 2015

--

As I was walking to class one day I noticed someone was tabling and wearing a shirt that said “This is what a feminist looks like.” That person was bald and dressed in clothes that would be considered male attire. So according to her I have to dress like that in order to be feminist. I was disappointed when I saw that. According to that individual, I had to dress like that in order to call myself a feminist. I believe I can wear a dress and a pretty bow if I wanted and still call myself a feminst. Why should clothes be a determining factor?

When I was younger I used to dress what people call tomboy. I felt that in order to be accepted by my dad, I had to dress and act like a boy. Dressing up in boy attire was also comfortable for me. I HATED wearing dresses and looking “girly.” I did not want to be sewing with my mom. I wanted to be outdoors with my brothers. I wonder if acceptance is a reason to why people dress androgynous. Or it could also be fashion that is encouraging it to be the newest thing.

As mentioned in class being androgynous is being partly male and partly female in appearance. But why does it look more masculine though? That is somthing that I have questioned for a long time. Also, why are these looks more common amongst women though?

The androgenous haircut. Why is it short hair like a guy?

I propose that in the future, we will see a large shift towards androgyny, both physically and mentally, especially in regards to the demasculinization of men.

I feel like there are more questions then there are answers. I don’t think androgynous should be something that should be considered “in,” but instead should be done because one wants to.

--

--