How Hip Hop Taught Me About Feminist Theory Throughout My Childhood

Serena Rios
Gender Theory
Published in
4 min readMay 13, 2017

The inclusion of feminist theory in Hip Hop to make it more accessible to those of various backgrounds

the beginning of the Hip Hop wave (creating a sound system)

So what is Hip Hop and how can it connect to the feminist agenda? Well, it first began as a way of tackling issues of racism, poverty and violence in lower income neighborhoods within America. The primary audience were those coming from rough backgrounds with little or no education, making the message of Hip Hop vital to the survival of many listeners. Over time, it transitioned to fit mainstream society by turning to the exploitation of women, which is why the push for feminist messages in Hip Hop is so important.

Bell Hooks, argues in Theory as a Liberatory Practice, that “any theory that cannot be shared in everyday conversation cannot be used to educate the public.” She also describes theory as something she immersed herself into in a time of her own pain growing up. As a child, I was often split between my parents as to what version of me would be the best. On one hand, my father wanted me to be tough, while my mother was in favor of a more emotional, feminine daughter. In the car, I would listen to Hip Hop with my dad and rap along with him to uncensored versions of songs, which upset my mom who played Disney soundtracks in the car. I was torn between two sets of standards of my own feminine identity. By later being exposed to feminist ideals in hip hop, I was able to gain a better understanding of feminist theory in terms of empowerment that I had no prior knowledge of.

Missy Elliott, a prominent face of hip hop who pushed feminist ideals

Hip Hop is not always nice to women, in fact a lot of times it objectifies them and portrays them as only being good for sexual relations. This may be a reason as to why mom was hesitant to allow me to listen to most songs at a young age. The Elite Daily article on Feminism in Hip Hop points out the ways in which women are degraded in hip hop and mainstream society. It also focuses on feminist concepts that have been pushed in Hip Hop by artists like TLC, Queen Latifah, Missy Elliott and Tupac.

Basically, in a culture full of hate and disrespect for women, artists have pushed back by using their platform to call out flaws in the system in terms of gender roles and standards, making ideas of feminism tangible to all who have access to music. This makes feminist theory a part of everyday conversation by employing concepts of power for women in the music. Listeners are able to discuss problems regarding gender and sexuality openly as it becomes a part of popular culture.

Hip Hop group TLC

One moment that I will never forget, is one of the first times I heard the song No Scrubs by TLC, a powerful group who infused feminism throughout their hit songs. I was in the car with my mother and she explained how the song and its message relates to her own life. Essentially, the song discusses men who are “scrubs” meaning they have no money or goals and are thus not worthy of a woman’s time. My mother explained her struggles growing up and constantly being objectified by men as she walked home from work and school, telling me how much this song meant to her. She claimed it taught her how valuable and powerful she was as a woman. In turn, I realized that I too was in control of myself, regarding the standards that both parents set for me. I came to the conclusion that if I wanted to be tough or sensitive, it was my choice and my voice in the end. Without even realizing it, she was discussing the concepts of feminist theory with me. Bell Hooks argues that theory must be able to be a part of everyday conversation due to moments like these. If theory is easy to understand regardless of education, class or status it can become a part of everyday life. By incorporating ideas of feminist theory into Hip Hop, it becomes attainable to a larger amount of people than only to those in college or in pursuit of a higher education.

TLC’s hit, No Scrubs

Hip Hop is often flooded with misogynistic messages so it is vital to have powerful feminist lyrics in order to reclaim Hip Hop in a way that no longer degrades women, but instead praises them. If Hip Hop and every other genre of music continues to include feminist theory within the culture, it can become a greater portion of everyday conversation, making it easier for everyone to accept and understand.

--

--