Women = Power

Finding alternatives to oppression rhetoric

Hannah Hochberg-Miller
Gender Theory
3 min readApr 27, 2017

--

image from PADMAD Articles

I view feminism from a perspective based on solidarity, unification, and coalition building- a view that differs from the opinion of Judith Butler. In her theory that compares women’s subjugation to the “juridical system of power,” Butler labels women with the victim. She argues that in the juridical system of power, women are the subjects who are being repressed by the lawmakers and the law enforcement. By making this comparison, Butler centers women and feminism on oppression, which, to many, is not particularly empowering. Furthermore, the focus on “women” as being the subjects of oppression produces gendered subjects, which again, victimizes women. I do not support the victimization of women; I desire a feminism that uses solidarity to create a safe space to promote culturally respectful empowerment for all women.

As a white, upper-middle class woman, I know my struggles are fundamentally different than women of color and women from lower socio-economic places in society. I am aware of white-privilege; I am aware of economic privilege. But I am also aware of the stereotypes that I am confronted with for being a Jewish woman; the anti-Semitism I experience in my life. My narrative as a woman, or even as a feminist, differs from the narratives of Black women, Chicana women, Arab women, Indian women, Ethiopian women, Somali women, and beyond. However, regardless of our different experiences, I believe that we can all come together in solidarity with one another in order to uplift ourselves. Differences do not need to divide us; we can simultaneously recognize our differences while encouraging empowerment. I want to be an ally to women around the world and I want those women to be my allies in return. I don’t want our frustration with our own experiences of patriarchy to make us feel isolated or too repressed to promote an improved society where women are equitable to men- however that equitably is meant in various regions and cultures.

Creating coalitions and making allies with different groups of people are effective methods of promoting change. Instead of playing the victim, or in Judith Butler’s terms, “the subject,” women can inspire improved circumstances by sharing their experiences with patriarchy and misogyny, altering the language used around feminism, exploring ways to unify women, and creating programs to encourage such empowerment. Classes should be taught about women and the environment rather than women and sexual violence; movies should be made about women overcoming poverty rather than women being held back. Change the rhetoric and change the image surrounding women to show the accomplishments that women can and already do achieve. It is important to be educated on the different challenges women experience around the world, but the face of feminism needs to be a face of unity and empowerment, rather than oppression and polarization.

Judith Butler aligns herself with Michel Foucault in his belief that the juridical system of power produces “the subjects they subsequently come to represent,” however, I do not agree with this. I am not a victim. I may experience the oppressions of patriarchy, but I am NOT oppressed. I may experience misogyny, but I am NOT oppressed. I may be limited by the androcentric nature of our society, but I am NOT oppressed. With the help of my fellow women, we can rise up to promote equitable lives for all of us.

--

--