MEN.

Unnati Gandhi
Gender Theory
Published in
3 min readNov 30, 2015
Source: Google Images

This three-letter title given to those who are supposedly considered the “superior” gender is one that is loved and hated.

Men are caught in this love/hate relationship with women. The phrase “can’t live with them, can’t live without them,” comes to mind when thinking about men. I mean sure, there are important aspects to having men in the world like repopulation and…eh…I think that’s about it…

Femininity is constantly being overshadowed by masculinity. Hence why women get paid less than men and are less likely to survive a natural disaster. According to Nafeez Ahmed and UN figures, “women face risk of death from natural disasters that is 14 times higher than for men.” According to my Sustainability, Gender and Development In the Global South class, the reason for this is because women lack education, resources, and societal roles that rendered them helpless in the face of natural disasters. Another logical reason is that most of these third world countrywomen are unable to swim.

The reasoning for why this is happening to these women? Because MEN. That’s why. Men, masculinity, that whole shebang, will forever be the reasons why women are losing their lives whether it be physically, emotionally, spiritually, etc…

But you know what is fun about always being belittled? Going against those who belittle us! I mean, who doesn’t love a good rebellion?! Women have been rebelling against gender roles since the whole feminist movement came to be and I think we’ve made some pretty BIG strides since then (HELLO, WE WON THE RIGHT TO VOTE, LIKE WHAT!). A relatable figure that comes to mind when the concept of rebelling against men is being discussed is Fa Mulan! That fictional (and I think actual person) not only went into the army in her dad’s place but she proved herself worthy to the other men. I mean, she did have to hide her identity for a good portion of the movie, but who saved the Chinese president’s life? I didn’t see Shang anywhere in that action, thank you very much!

Source: Google Images

Being masculine means being able to open tightly sealed jars, changing a flat tire, and not showing any emotions, apparently. To me, that’s not what being a “man” is. Who decided that a man is defined by his ability to open a jar? And for the record, I am perfectly capable of changing a tire, brakes, and oil, so does that mean I’m manlier than a man? And I am not the type of person who shows emotions, like I really HATE crying. Even when people cry around me, I get SUUUUPER uncomfortable, but does that mean I’m less of a woman? I would love to meet the person who put these characteristics in the “masculine” folder because I would slap them for being an idiot.

Different things all around the world define masculinity. In India, men freely hold hands in public and dance in a very “homosexual” manner. In Korea, men wear more makeup than I do because that’s what being masculine means to them. I feel like only in America is masculine viewed as someone who is “tough and strong.” I think I’m a pretty tough and strong person and I can change a tire, so I must be manly as fuck!

What I am trying to say is being a woman is awesome. I didn’t really think much about feminism or how a woman’s societal role affects her being, but thanks to this class and Dr. Rawal, I have a better understanding of what it truly means to be a woman. So thank you Dr. Rawal, I enjoyed being in your class!

--

--