“We hate Trump because he is racist, you hated Obama because you are racist.”

Alexis Garcia
Gender Theory
Published in
3 min readMay 26, 2017

I don’t want to be Bob’s friend. I want to be just like Sally.

The image above went viral after the presidential election this past November. Trump supporters were claiming that the Democrats were acting like sore losers and cry babies because of Hilary Clinton’s loss. According to Trump supporters, Democrats needed to show respect to their new president, Democrats needed to suck up their loss, and Democrats needed to accept their loss and be at peace with the decision that was made. Apparently, Trump supporters acted like mature adults after Obama won both terms and they simply waited patiently for his term to come to an end.

Most of the trump supporters on my Facebook were re-posting this photo and telling anti-Trump supporters to grow up. Trump supporters were arguing that Democrats need to put their political beliefs aside from friendships, relationships, and family. However, the photo above is wrong for several reasons. If a friend of mine voted for Hilary Clinton and I voted for Bernie Sanders, then I can see how the Sally/Bob photo can work in that situation. However, if someone I know voted for Donald Trump then I simply cannot associate myself with that person.

If I remember correctly, Republicans made it very clear in 2008 that they were very upset Obama had won the presidential election. If I remember correctly, Americans responded to Obama’s election by hanging a life size stuffed Obama doll. If I remember correctly, Obama supporters were violently attacked for showing support in public. Sara Ahmed explains that violence is created through hate. And Trump supporters hate minorities and low class Americans/immigrants.

Donald Trump is simply a bad person. I hate Donald Trump. If there is a stronger word than hate, then that is how I feel about Donald Trump. I hate how much pain he is causing the whole country. I hate how much pain he is causing my family. I hate how much pain he is causing to all minorities. Trump is tearing America apart and making Americans hate each other. All across America there have been hate crimes and violent outbursts.

Professor Ward at UCR has taught me respect and patience which I believe are the most important characteristics a person can obtain. Professor Ward has showed her students through her actions that although a person might not have the same views as us, we give them respect as human beings. We do not need to violently attack the person with different views or argue for them to understand us. Also, we do not need to force our views onto that person if they refuse to see our beliefs. I can respect a person for having different views but I do not need to associate myself with them. I do not want to surround myself or my daughter around racists, sexists, and ignorant people. I want to teach my daughter to spread positivity, accept everyone for how different they are, and love people for who they are.

Everyone has a right to feel how they feel (unless Trump tries to take away the right of how we feel/think) and I hate Donald Trump. Hate is an understatement for how I feel.

--

--