Call for participants: Making multiculturalism work

Simran Kalra
genderchapterGC
Published in
4 min readOct 17, 2019

Tired of the media stereotyping your culture? Want to raise awareness about your heritage? Here is your chance to be a part of the difference!

At King’s College London’s Dickson Poon School of Law, I am conducting research on the use of cultural and religious norms by women as they make claims and secure rights within their family and community. The aim of the project is to increase access to justice, and you can be a part of it too!

WHO AM I? I am a lawyer from India and have worked on women’s rights and cultural accommodation for years. I was the lead analyst on the Indian rape law reforms in 2012–13 at PRS Legislative Research. I used to brief parliamentarians and had developed research on sexual and reproductive rights and violence in the South Asian context. Later, I taught courses on access to justice and women’s rights at Jindal Global University in Delhi.

Some of my work on community justice and women’s use of culture is also available here and on this very website here.

WHAT AM I DOING THESE DAYS? I teach family law at law schools at the University of London. I am currently working with NGOs on an ad-hoc basis to offer workshops on family law and rights in the UK. I am also a part of a campaign to reform English law to increase the accommodation of minority interests under family law statutes.

WHY IS THIS RESEARCH IMPORTANT? In the media, there is a deeply held misconception about the position of women within cultural and religious minority communities. There is a perception that women in these communities are controlled and subordinated. There is very little understanding of how culture and religion, in fact, offer ways through which women identify themselves and even claim rights.

WHO AM I LOOKING TO SPEAK WITH? I am interested in talking to women from South Asia in the UK, who are or were married. In particular, I am interested in asking them about their choice of marriage laws: English law or the Religious law: Shari’a or other religious systems.

You could be British born or have migrated to England.

LOCATION: Anywhere in England and Wales. The research is currently underway with several NGOs across different locations.

HOW DOES THIS RESEARCH BENEFIT YOU? Anyone who participates in the research will contribute to legal reform aimed at making the law more responsive to minority communities and for the media to be more representative of minority women’s experiences.

Through the research you will also have a chance to access a safe and secure space to speak about your experiences without judgement.

Your stories and experiences would be dealt with respect, care and confidentiality. The research, like all other similar research at King’s College London, offers utmost confidentiality and anonymity.

WHY PARTICIPATE IN THIS RESEARCH WITH ME? I have had several years of experience working with people who have had conflictual and challenging domestic and personal experiences. My research method offers an opportunity for you to tell your story, on your terms. This method allows you to secure the closure you need and leaves you feeling more at ease than before starting the interview.

WHAT CAN I DO FOR YOU? I offer workshops at NGOs on family law and women’s rights. I can offer you and your organisation guidance on these and related support. I have also worked on mental health and wellbeing and can provide support to the organisations by developing workshops that enable transition and coping.

I would be eager to develop collaborations that are suited to the needs of NGOs that work within the space.

If you are interested in participating in the research or know someone who would like to talk about her experiences, please do write to me at simran.karla@kcl.ac.uk

--

--

Simran Kalra
genderchapterGC

Indian, feminist, scholar, writer, lawyer, caffeine addict.