“(Not) All Men”

Jess Brooks
Genders, and other gendered things
1 min readNov 7, 2016

“And yet one of the major obstacles in the Fight Against Patriarchy is that a sexist guy will always seem like an outsider — a bad-news ex-boyfriend, perhaps, but not your male feminist friend, your super chill brother, your gentle dad. Never the bros you know and love, never the “fair-minded guys who want women to succeed.” Never one of Our Guys.

But realistically, mathematically, it doesn’t add up…

When I witness sexists in action, I almost don’t think of them as humans. But that guy who demonstratively ogled me on the street the other day, the guy whose face I can’t even remember? He has friends and family living in a parallel universe where he’s a decent person.”

So, this reality is something that scares me so much. So much. Because sometimes I wonder, where are this guy’s friends and family members to Let Him Know?

The good thing about Donald Trump is that he has outed the secret shitty racists, so at least there is that. We need someone to out the misogynists.

Also, the first Scott Fitzgerald quote at the end of the article is one of my favorite quotes, I reflect on it all the time.

--

--

Jess Brooks
Genders, and other gendered things

A collection blog of all the things I am reading and thinking about; OR, my attempt to answer my internal FAQs.