“Solve Sexism With Overconfidence, Hope and Changing Your Brain”

Jess Brooks
Genders, and other gendered things
1 min readAug 9, 2014

“So when the authors call it a “confidence gap,” I have to wonder why they didn’t call it an “overconfidence gap”? Is the problem women not thinking they are good enough, or men thinking they are better than they are? In other words, they totally wrote the article like the women they describe: too willing to point the finger at themselves.”

I WONDER THIS ALL THE TIME. stop telling me that I’m doing it wrong.

This is (a) an example of why Jezebel is super useful and necessary sometimes, and (b) why I am sick of reading articles about women in the Atlantic.

Also, I love the illustration.

FAQ

--

--

Jess Brooks
Genders, and other gendered things

A collection blog of all the things I am reading and thinking about; OR, my attempt to answer my internal FAQs.