Jess Brooks
Genders, and other gendered things
1 min readAug 17, 2014

--

“Syrian mother’s agony: why I made my teenage daughter become a child bride”

“Tales of a couple of rapes and kidnapping incidents came to light in the town. Three young girls in our neighbourhood vanished on their way to another village. Simple daily tasks or bus journeys became a torment. If a man takes a fancy to a girl on a bus he can force her to go with him. Young girls had turned into an unspeakable source of anxiety for her parents. Everyone wanted grooms for their girls; otherwise they just had to lock them up at home.”
http://www.theguardian.com/world/2014/jul/17/syrian-mothers-child-brides

Occasionally I come across these kinds of explanations for actions and behaviors I have been taught to find senseless and cruel, and I find it comforting to see that logic does exist in these moments. (exploiting this story for my comfort?)

FAQ

--

--

Jess Brooks
Genders, and other gendered things

A collection blog of all the things I am reading and thinking about; OR, my attempt to answer my internal FAQs.