On Halves and Have-Nots

K
general journal of infinite musings
1 min readAug 13, 2015

A poem

Half-hearted plans.

Half-blue moon, in full.

Half lie, half truth.

One half of no possibility.

(I’m half forgetting already.)

.:.

Halved feelings.

(One happy, one helpless.)

Half wise. For once.

Only half of you. Maybe.

(Three quarters of me.)

.:.

Half relieved. Half regretting.

(Half in love. It’s half upsetting.)

The half of me I never show anybody.

(The half of you I never knew.)

.:.

Two halves of a not-whole.

Half a lifetime in half a night.

Half of me needs a lifeline.

The other half gave up the fight.

.:.

Half the conversations we could have had.

Half the life I thought I knew.

Half the world I never had.

(Half the black, half the blue.)

.:.

Half not wanting to forget.

The other half, desperate.

One half knows what’s not for keeps.

(The other half is in too deep.)

.:.

Half wonders what I have not.

.:.

And so I leave what is my half,

leave it there by the plants,

under the brightness of not-blue,

the fading hints of not-romance.

(The other half quite possibly knew.)

.:.

I am halved.

(And so are you.)

--

--