Nuclear Power

How I Launched A Nuclear Dream Factory

I started atomic_trends to explore what nuclear power will do for humanity in the coming decades. Here’s how it’s gone so far.

David de Caires Watson
The Kernel

--

A few months back, I wrote that the old dreams about nuclear power are dead, and it is time to make some new ones. I expanded on this idea in a YouTube video called Imagineering an Atomic Future.

Not happy with that, I started working on a Pinterest board, searching for positive, forward-looking imagery to represent nuclear power in the 21st century. I collected images around a range of themes such as Electric Dreams, Temples of Modernity, The City Never Sleeps, Power of the Gods, and Tomorrow, Today.

“But I don’t see how your board is about nuclear,” people said.

“That’s the problem,” I replied.

My Pinterest board was where I gathered ideas and inspiration for atomic_trends

Pinterest is great for inspiration, but it only gets you so far. It’s never more than a collection of other people’s work. I had to go beyond that. I had to show people what I saw in these images that they couldn’t.

And so atomic trends was born. atomic_trends’ mission is to birth those new dreams that nuclear so badly needs, and to be a first step on the journey to making them a reality. You might say atomic_trends is a kind of nuclear dream factory.

I can’t say exactly what I’ll explore, but some likely themes will be: climate, rewilding, futurism, human development, space exploration, equality, clean air, justice, abundance, energy access, ecomodernism and recycling.

You might say atomic_trends is a kind of nuclear dream factory.

If you don’t see why nuclear is important to those themes, then you’re in the right place!

It’s been a busy first couple of weeks. Below is a selection of the images I’ve shared so far in a wide format. Check out the Twitter feed for links to high-definition originals, and the captions on Instagram for the thinking behind each image.

I can’t do this on my own. This will only work if those who believe in nuclear are brave enough to share these ideas with their friends and family.

So give us a follow on Insta and Twitter, but more importantly tag and share with your friends and family!

--

--

David de Caires Watson
The Kernel

Nuclear futurist, chartered physicist, safety engineer, amateur birder and pedal power enthusiast. Writer for The Kernel mag. Founder of Atomic Trends.