A Generation Girl’s Holiday Club Review 👩‍💻🚀

Nur Fauziyya
Generation Girl
Published in
3 min readSep 25, 2022

--

Never heard of Holiday Club from Generation Girl? Let’s read a story from our Rookie. We hope you enjoy it!

Hi! I’m Najmi Zakiyya Izzati. Call me Najmi 😊

I’m a high school student right now. In an international school in Iraq, I completed grade 11, and I’ll be continuing grade 12 in Yogyakarta.

I learned about Generation Girl for the first time from my mother. GenG follows other accounts that provide possibilities for students going to college, in college, or just out of college. It’s like a spider web. I learn about other social media profiles through GenG that I believe may be useful to me in the future.

Since I’m still young, I still have a lot to learn, including about technology. Technology learning resources are now widely available, like Generation Girl.

In addition, Google is a name we all recognize, right? Consider learning about UI/UX (one of my favorite subjects!). You may discover more about Figma and its YouTube videos by performing a fast Google search. You only need an internet-connected PC and a grasp of English.

I actually joined the Holiday Club Generation Girl because my mother signed me up. Though I’m not sure how she learned it. I initially joined the Winter Club 2020, and ever then, I have continued to be a member of the GenG Summer/Winter Club.

I immediately enrolled in the Product Management English class at Summer Club 2022. I gained knowledge of the duties and responsibilities of a product manager, as well as the steps involved in creating a product, the target market, the teams involved, etc.

It reminded me a lot of my business and economics class from my sophomore year, which is why I really liked it. Certainly, working on the product alone presents a difficulty. Since a product manager typically collaborates with numerous individuals from various teams, it can be challenging to put yourself in the shoes of other teams and imagine what your job would be during the product development process.

Due to my passion of writing and the fact that I tend to keep my thoughts to myself, I created the journaling app “A penny for your thoughts” for the final project. Having a platform to express myself fully seemed really nice.

Since we both enjoy reading fanfiction, Ghina’s project caught my attention the most because she created a product just for fanfiction fans. To be honest, there were a lot of interesting projects throughout the presentation.

Overall, it was a good time! However, given that the current situation is still online, there are unavoidable challenges.

It frustrates me because so many newcomers won’t take the initiative to participate when I really want to make some acquaintances. I won’t deny that I have been in the past. I’ve worked up the nerve to stand up and strike up a conversation with the mentors and other Rookies, but my efforts seem to be in vain. I’m quiet on camera, and I make little effort to participate in class. But we can’t help it, I know that. I therefore hope that an offline Holiday Club will be available in the future because I truly want to interact with people in person 💖

I’m happy with the project I’ve made and stored in Canva so far. Of course, I still want to participate in the upcoming Holiday Club for Generation Girl. Okay, hopefully we can meet offline soon!

Thanks for reading! 💕 Be sure to check out more insightful articles from Generation Girl by clicking the box below 👇

--

--