Source: WhiteHouse.gov

Youth On: The Pope In America

YR Media
Generation Youth Radio

--

Youth Radio special correspondent Erin Callahan is following Pope Francis as he visits the East Coast of the United States and speaking with young people along the way. (UPDATED Sep. 25th, 26th & 30th 2015)

Tara Anders, 12 years old , Garrett Park, Maryland

Tara Anders, 12 years old , Garrett Park, Maryland

Met Pope Francis on September 23rd in Washington DC.

Pope Francis inspires me in many ways. He is a very normal human being, like me, making it easier for me to relate to him. He once said in an interview that he was a sinner, implying that he wasn’t perfect, he also made mistakes. I feel like this inspires people, and in a way relieves them from thinking that they have to be a perfect.

One thing that I noticed when I went to meet Pope Francis was how friendly he was, how he made it a point to smile at everyone, and how everyone was responding to him.

It is very important to me that Pope Francis is addressing the issue about living simple. He lives very modestly. He chose to have a small car, he doesn’t live in the papal apartments, and instead lives in a more simple place. This solves the big issue of people thinking that money equals a happy life. He shows that love equals a happy life. I truly admire this because I think that he is absolutely right.

Annie Paxton, At Apostolic Nunciature, in Washington DC, Wednesday, Sept. 23rd.

Annie Paxton, 12 years, Garrett Park, Maryland

Met Pope Francis on September 23rd in Washington DC.

It was really amazing meeting Pope Francis. I got to shake his hand and it was the most memorable part of my life so far.

Pope Francis seems to radiate holiness and seeing him inspires me to take my faith to the next level.

It is important to me that Pope Francis is addressing difficult situations faced by children. I started a club last year at my school that addressed issues such as child labor and girls education, so I’m really happy that the Pope is taking a special interest in us.

I think the Pope’s visit to America will inspire people to convert, and I think Pope Francis will make several issues hot issues.

Haley Snyder at the Capitol

Haley Snyder, 18 years old, Portland Maine

Before seeing Pope Francis, I assumed that his appeal was simply a religious one. I didn’t think he would have the power to emotionally move people who didn’t identify with Catholicism, such as myself.

Yet Pope Francis not only gave a message of peace, he called upon the citizens of the world. In his address, he named four individuals that altered society for the better: Abraham Lincoln, Martin Luther King, Dorothy Day and Thomas Merton. By combining those examples and observations of the current day, he gave his opinion on what an effective political leader should be, and what kinds of questions we should be asking ourselves.

As I stood there among thousands of others under a sweltering sun, I recognized Pope Francis not just as a religious leader, but one who strives for social and political justice. His influence stretches far beyond the realm of Catholicism. He impacted myself and the nation in more ways than a religious one, hopefully equally moving us all to act.

Cate Paxton at Andrews Air Force Base

Cate Paxton, 16 years old, Kensington, MD

I went with other government officers from my high school, Georgetown Visitation, to wave goodbye to Pope Francis at Andrews Air Force Base. Although we were about 150 yards away from him, the joy on Pope Francis’ face was remarkable — he is just such a happy, positive figure, and our group definitely felt a lot of joy in his presence.

I also participated in the Pope’s Mass in Philadelphia. I loved being around so many other Catholics and “Fran Fans” from around the country — I ran into a friend from Michigan, and stood next to a woman from Minnesota and a group from Tennessee during Mass.

Pope Francis has certainly given young Catholics like me a figure to rally around — his visit to the United States made Catholicism a hot topic for this week.

I love Pope Francis’s simplicity of spirit. He really embodies so many of the Salesian virtues that we emphasize at Visitation: simplicity, joyful optimism, thoughtful concern for others, and humility, among others. Having such a positive model of faith who truly practices what the Church preaches is wonderful — his focus on the needs of the poor and vulnerable appeals to me and many other young people who appreciate the work that the Church does to empower those on the margins of society. By not only spiritually reaching out to the marginalized but also advocating for changes that will benefit our society, Pope Francis embodies Catholic Social Teaching, which is a hugely important part of the Catholic faith that many people forget about or choose not to follow.

Crystal Grant in Rome

Crystal Grant, Tampa, Florida, Age 20

In New York City.

Although I’m not Catholic, I greatly respect the pope as a spiritual leader and as a leader of opinion on the social issues. My first time seeing the Pope was when I was studying abroad, and I saw him in Vatican City. The experience was surreal. The intensity of the audience is what really struck me. People had tears in their eyes as he spoke. Pope Francis’ focus on how the community needs to take action draws people of all faiths

In New York, I was touched by the message Pope Francis shared with the American people, and to the people of the world. He spoke of the immigration crisis in Europe involving the refuges fleeing from their countries. Many Americans can sympathize with these refugees, but turn a scornful eye towards our own immigration problems with undocumented immigrants living in this country. Pope Francis illustrated the connection between the immigrants in Europe with the immigrants who come to the US. He emphasized how just like in Europe, immigrants come to America to seek a better life, and that we need to find a better way to handle our own immigration crisis. He said that rather than just looking at these people as numbers, we have to see them as people with individual faces and stories.

--

--

YR Media
Generation Youth Radio

YR Media, formerly Youth Radio, is a dynamic national network of young journalists, artists and innovators. We create content that matters.