thinkCutie

Generative art can remain collaborative and personal

Douglas Dollars
Generative Art

--

The Edmonton artist Adriean Koleric, commonly known as thinkITEM, let me take over his twitter feed for a couple days.

Merging my love of his “steal/copy/repeat” approach and my ongoing learnings in generative art, I decided to make a unique art piece for each of his Twitter followers composed of up to 7000 hearts forming his robot mask. The pieces all look similar, but absolutely unique.

More than seven hundred pieces of unique art were made in my “cutieITEM” project, and responses were very overwhelmingly positive. The joy and surprise in people’s reactions as I began sharing their individual pieces directly was fun, and really drove home the reminder that something that looks like a copy may not be, and that something shared with an individual remains personal and special.

Each piece had a consistent look, the thinkITEM robot “mask,” composed of hearts, with the word Cutie below.

I’ll continue updating this category on generative art as well as the code/idea sketch repository as I create new work. Up next I’ll write about the process of how I set about creating this piece, and in such quantity.

Your pal,
Douglas / @theDoug

--

--

Douglas Dollars
Generative Art

North America’s second-greatest investor in interesting projects, deeply trusted technical consultant, and possessing characteristics strangers cite as genuine.