Kings Wharf, Exeter Quay

Being Lazy, Beautiful Places And Booming Business: Why I Love Exeter And You Will Too After Reading This Blog

Tamzin Grebot
generatorhub
Published in
4 min readJan 12, 2018

--

I’ve grown up in Exeter, I was born here, went to school here and now I am working here so I maybe a little bit bias but I love it! Besides the indecisive weather I’d like to think I know the city pretty well so I thought I’d share the reasons I am so fond of the city and why I think you should love it just a much!

Everything is less than a 20 minute walk away

Ok, my New Years resolution is to get fit and I am definitely working on this but I’m still pretty lazy. If you’re anything like me then Exeter is the perfect city, everything seems to be no more than a 20 minute walk away.

You can get a direct train to London cheap as chips

We maybe in the South West and tucked away down the bottom but if you time it right you can pick up a bargain on the train. Local travel routes include a direct train line to London Waterloo, a growing airport that offers direct routes to 42 airports and if driving is your thing then we house the end of the M5 and other main roads too.

Its a great mash up of peace and party

I enjoy a party as much as the next man but I equally just love to chill out and Exeter is awesome for this. You can head into town on a Saturday and get lost in the hustle and bustle of shoppers, spend a few hours pottering around and you’ll see the city transform into a heaven of party goers. From bars to nightclubs, event venues to beer gardens the nightlife is rocking! My favourite chill out location is the quay, you can take a walk or sit and watch the world go by in peace. There are other locations across the city with similarly relaxed vibes, check out the Cathedral green, Belmont park and Northernhay gardens.

Fernworthy Resevour, Dartmoor (near Haytor), Budleigh Salterton

We’re surrounded by beaches and moors

I think we take the beautiful areas we’re surrounded by for granted because we don’t realize how lucky we are. I remember going to Manchester as a child and thinking it was super cool that there was a gigantic sand pit with deck chairs and a stream inside a shopping center. Little did I know that this was one of the only beaches many children from Manchester ever saw. I grew up taking trips to Exmouth for fish & chips or Dawlish to check out the arcades, they’re so close and easy to reach. There’s no better feeling than running down a tor on Dartmoor with the wind in your face and endless green land. Its a great place to take your dog for a walk and stop for a picnic.

Big Weekend 2016

There’s never a dull moment

Some pretty cool events have happened in Exeter in recent years. We hosted BBC Radio 1's big weekend in 2016, the Premier League Darts yearly and The Devon County Show yearly. There’s something for everyone here, and the events are getting bigger each year. If you want to get updates on which events are happening in Exeter, sign up to The Generator newsletter.

We’re rocking the independent scene

Exeter is riddled with cute cafes, fun work spaces and exciting independent shops. To name a few you should definitely check out, No 1 Polsloe (best hangover breakfast), Inside out (crafty gifts and accessories) and Real Mccoy (vintage clothing arcade). Don’t limit yourself to these as there are so many worth a visit and be sure to pop in on us at The Generator too. We’re a funky coworking space perfect for freelancers, startups and small businesses.

Harry Potter is everywhere

If you’re a crazy Potter fan or maybe your boarding on muggle you’ll still find it amazing that many places around Exeter are rumored to be the inspiration for some wizarding world locations. J K Rowling attended Exeter University for 3 years and although she hated her time there, we still love her. The most well know likenesses are Gandy Street and Diagon Ally, The Old Firehouse and The Leaky Cauldron and Exeter Cathedral and the Great Hall.

We’re hitting the business world hard

So the place is a great social city and its close to pretty much everything you could want but wheres the money? Exeter is forecast to be one of the UKs fastest growing cities over the next 3 years. The city is excelling in ICT, professional services and real estate and is ranked the 5th highest city for GVA on par with Bristol. We’re playing with the big guns but we’re fighting with force!

So, those are my reasons I love living and working in Exeter, if you haven’t visited before then what are you waiting for? And if you’re living in Exeter at the moment then let me know what attracts you to the city.

--

--