Community Insider: Jenny Nightingale

Tamzin Grebot
generatorhub
Published in
2 min readMar 14, 2018

We have some amazing people working at The Generator and in this section we’ll chat to them and find out a little more about what they do.

Community Insider: Jenny Nightingale

Tell us a little about yourself.

I’m known to most people as Jen, and love living here in Exeter with my husband and little girl. I love the sea, the river, sunshine, beaches, green space, people, community, chocolate, shortbread biscuits and ice cream.

Tell us a bit about what do you do?

I’m a freelance Illustrator and Graphic Designer.

My illustrations are colourful, quirky characters and creatures that lend themselves to activity books, children’s playzones, illustrated maps and gift products for clients such as aquariums, museums, zoos, sites of interest, charities, small or large businesses.

My graphic design is varied; logos, brochures, catalogues, advertising. Sometimes partnered with my illustrations, sometimes completely different.

I love both strands of my work.

What events will you be attending this month (March 2018— business or social)?

Lots of sociableness this month, a little holiday to Cornwall then a wedding at Easter.

How long have you been with us here at The Generator?

Since August 2014, so nearly 4 years now.

Full time until I went on maternity leave last year, now part time.

Why did you join The Generator?

I worked from home for 8 years. The first five were good. The last three were flipping hard.

I’m a sociable creature so struggled with practically no human interaction in my day.

I joined a great community workspace in Cornwall (where we used to live), then joined Generator when we moved here. It’s great.

What would you say your favourite part of The Generator is?

The community. I’ve made some really great friends here and enjoy making the most of my lunch break chatting with people.

I love the work / social balance, you can really knuckle down in the office and get lots of work done, and also have a break and a catch up over some food or coffee.

If you were a cake what cake would you be and why?

Some sort of colourful celebratory cake maybe? I’d like to think I bring a little colour to people’s day.

Jennys Illustraition Website www.jennynightingale.co.uk

Jennys Graphic Design Website www.fisheyedesign.co.uk

--

--