Community Insider: Lesley Smith

Tamzin Grebot
generatorhub
Published in
3 min readMay 11, 2018

We have some amazing people working at The Generator and in this section we’ll chat to them and find out a little more about what they do.

Community Insider: Lesley smith

Tell us a little about yourself

I am Lesley, and, as I’m probably one of the older people to feature in Community Insider and have had a lot of life experiences, I need to keep this short or you’ll get War and Peace!

I gained a psychology degree from Exeter University as a mature student then worked for 18 years as TravelWise Officer at Devon County Council, promoting sustainable travel using social marketing, networking and managing events. One of my most exciting roles was as the Start Manager for Stage 5 of the 2014 Tour of Britain cycle race in Exmouth. I also set up carsharedevon.com which was an example of best practice and led to me gaining a national award.

When I’m not working I love walking, getting involved at my local church, travelling and, when I get the opportunity, riding elephants!

Tell us a bit about what you do.

I work for Co-cars which is based in the Generator at Dix’s Field. Co-cars offers its members car hire by the hour (from £3.75 ph) or day (from £25) plus 18p per mile, saving them thousands on the cost of a car, road tax and insurance . We have vehicles in the centre of Exeter, across the city and South West. Co-bikes, Exeter’s electric bike hire scheme, is also part of us. My role involves promotion and marketing support, attending events, organising launches, giving radio interviews, and networking. No two days are the same!

What events will you be attending this month (business or social)?

Events I’ll be attending in May May is going to be an exciting time for Co-cars because on 16 th May we are launching our first electric car at Albatross Road in Newcourt. The Renault Zoe has a range of up to 190 miles in the summer, is easy to drive, comfortable and with zero emissions as it is powered by 100% renewable energy. The hire rate for residential membership will be £4.75 per hour and £30 per day with FREE mileage, provided the Co-cars on site EV charger is used. We have more electric cars coming soon. Join Exeter’s Electric revolution!

I’m also going to be attending an event at the University in May to promote Co-cars and Co-bikes to staff and students there. (The photograph is of me at a previous University event.)

On a personal level I attend St. Mary’s Church in Willand, which is a beautiful, little 14 th century church in much need of some TLC. At the moment we are trying to raise £100,000 for essential repairs to the roof, walls and drainage. In May we are holding a Nashville Night with a professional country music band and I will be cooking supper for 80!

What is your favourite part of The Generator?

I love the friendly, helpful people and also being in a central location.

And just for fun..

If you could have any superhero power what would it be and why?

I’d would so love to be able to turn back time and make lots of different choices in my life!

What 3 albums would be your desert island disks and why?

Anything by Andrei Bochelli, Adele and Dolly Parton. How’s that for an eclectic mix!

If you’d like to be featured as a Generator Hub community insider then simply follow this link.

--

--