Community Insider: Mike Killen

Generator Hub
2 min readNov 19, 2018

--

We have some amazing people working at The Generator and in this section we’ll chat to them and find out a little more about what they do.

Community Insider: Mike Killen

Tell us a little about yourself.

I used to live in London where I was the head of digital marketing for UK/Nordics at Symantec. In 2012 when I lost my job and like all sensible 24 year old men, I booked a ticket to Las Vegas with my redundancy and lost everything. When I got home I met Liv who’s now my fiance, started a business and decided to stay in Devon.

Tell us a bit about what you do.

I help marketing businesses attract more clients, close more deals and sell more services. I run an online course and coaching business AND I’ve got a book out, From Single To Scale. But I can’t call myself an author yet because my spelling is still atrocious.

What events will you be attending this month (business or social)?

I’ll be going to Daniel Priestley’s Leads event in London to learn more about lead generation. I’ll also be running a couple of coaching calls and webinars with some other marketers and funnel builders online.

When did you first join The Generator?

I honestly can’t remember. 2017? 2016? All I can say is that when I joined, you could fit everyone on one desk area.

Why did you join The Generator?

I first saw a co-working space in Melbourne when I was consulting a customer. I knew that the second I got back to England, I wanted to work somewhere like that — and I found The Generator!

What is your favourite part of The Generator?

I’ve realised that I have more in common with the random and eclectic assortment of businesses at The Generator, than I did with people I used to work with in the same corporation. The Generator helps me feel confident in my business and that I’m not insane for wanting to run my own business.

And Just For Fun

If you could be any chocolate bar, what would it be?

I spent too long thinking about this. Anything with Oreo in it.

What is the song that gets you in the best mood?

Contact by Daft Punk. The final song on their last album, Random Access Memories. It’s unbelievably energetic.

If you could be any celebrity for a day who would you be and why?

Casey Neistat. The guy is a machine and I’d learn how he get’s so much done.

If you’d like to be featured as a Generator Hub community insider then simply follow this link.

--

--

Generator Hub

We are Exeter’s first coworking hub. We are a community of collaborative and innovative freelancers, start ups and small businesses.