The Apprenticeship Experience at The Generator Hub

Generator Hub
4 min readMay 14, 2019

--

The Generator Hub started taking on apprentices a couple years ago and found it a great way to train young people for the real world. They can be provided with the best skills possible and all the opportunities they want. Working for a co-work space is a great opportunity for young people, you can meet a variety of people who work in many different industries and it allows you to gain skills in the areas you wish to improve in. Here we will find out from the apprentices themselves about how they have found their experience.

Ross: Marketing

Hello, I am Ross, I am one of the Generator Marketing apprentices and I dabble in all kinds of marketing related activities thrown at me from The Generator. I also help Chris Walker with his various business ventures and his digital marketing. After escaping college life in Exeter, I sought to connect with like-minded people and grow my marketing abilities, which is why I pushed hard to get the apprenticeship at The Generator Hub. My time here has been more fun than I had anticipated, I have learnt more about how other people work and as an added bonus more about how my own mind works. Everyone here has the best stories to tell and life skills to teach.

When I leave, it will be with hopes of taking what I’ve learnt into my own business ventures to pursue entrepreneurship and film-making full time.

Jodie: Marketing

Hi, i’m Jodie and I am completing an apprenticeship in Marketing. I actually came across The Generator Hub from my mother (she is well connected) as she knew Neil. Neil then convinced me to come and work at The Generator and do an apprenticeship in Marketing and also learn about events, which is my current passion. I love working here and being surrounded by such amazing and lovely people. I have learnt so much about marketing and events. I was also promoted to space manager after 4 months to take on more responsibility and to help Liz & Neil out around the space. My confidence in talking to new people has improved massively and I now love speaking to every new person I can.

When I finish I plan to move to Bristol and use all the great skills I have gained to either start a new role in event coordination, creative marketing or copywriting.

George: Business Administrator

Hey, my name is George, I am one of The Generator apprentices and I am studying Business Administration. My experience at the Generator Hub has been most informative, it’s taught me how to apply my technical skills in a practical and professional manner. Thanks to this experience I now feel that I can function in professional work environments and being here has given me ample opportunity to better my business and I.T skills. This is one of the reasons I was interested in The Generator Apprenticeship in the first place.

I plan to move to Exeter from Sidmouth when I have finished my apprenticeship here in September. I feel confident enough to function professionally in a work environment now that I have the experience of working as a business administrator. I plan to start up my own I.T Troubleshooting business where I personally go to various clients and see what I can do to make their computer run more efficiently.

Cameron: Business Administrator

Hello, I’m Cameron and I am doing an apprenticeship in Business Administration. The Generator was recommended to me by one of my close friends, Ross, who is also currently doing an apprenticeship here. Ross said that it is a great place to work with lots of opportunities. Whilst I am here, I would like to learn the basics of starting and running a business as in the future I would like to work for myself, as I think it will give me a sense of accomplishment. Even if I don’t start anything successful, it will all experience and a learning curve.

I’m not a person who likes to look ahead long-term, but looking as long as I’m enjoying whatever I’m doing, in my opinion it’s been a successful time here.

We’re always looking for great people to join our team, for anyone who is looking for experience in a certain field or new opportunities get in contact with a member of our team at space@the-generator.org or call us on 01392 427 111.

--

--

Generator Hub

We are Exeter’s first coworking hub. We are a community of collaborative and innovative freelancers, start ups and small businesses.