Two friends and a co-working hub

Generator Hub
3 min readJun 6, 2019

--

This is a story about a wonderful day where two individuals found what they didn’t know they had lost. A story of a reunion of two old school friends and a co-working hub. A story that will bring nostalgia to your hearts.

Here at The Generator, we are all about our community so I would like to introduce you to Gavin and Martin so they can tell you their story.

Gavin;

My name’s Gavin and I work for a company called Wattpad, which is a social storytelling platform based in Toronto, I’m the UK guy who runs a worldwide team of online volunteers. I started writing weird science fiction and horror in my spare time and I actually posted it on Wattpad. The rest, as they say, is history.

One day I was the reading the fabulous Generator newsletter and whilst reading I spotted a familiar face, it was a photograph of an old college friend of mine, Martin. I decided to try and get in touch with him via Jodie, who works for The Generator, to see if Martin remembered how odd I was at school.

This is where Martin’s memory is probably sharper than mine. I think we originally met through playing badminton, we both grew up in small villages in the Okehampton area and ended up playing in various events/clubs around the ages of 10 to 12. We both then went to Okehampton College and then also worked together at a hotel just outside the area we lived in.

So I guess we’ve known each other for about 35 years, which suddenly means I feel rather old.

I started working in The Generator Hub Townhouse about 2 years ago with a friend, as I found working from home can be isolating sometimes. Doing a day a week in The Generator means I get to talk to real people and my wife gets a break from me chuntering away in a corner.

Martin reminded me we bumped into each other about 20 years ago; I had just moved back to Exeter after having worked in Bristol for a couple of years. Before now, we hadn’t seen each other since then.

Martin;

My name is Martin and my main role is one of the older statesmen of The Generator Quayhouse and my mission is to try and keep youngsters in line and bring back the Fax machine and the Pager. In my spare time, I’m a Financial Adviser.

Gavin says he found me. I call it destiny.

Gavin and I have known each other longer than most of you have been alive. Seriously, Gavin’s recollection is correct. I reckon about 35 years.

We met during the bitter Badminton wars between Bratton Clovelly and South Zeal College. I believe that Game Of Thrones was based around these times. Gavin and I were opponents.

I’ve been working at The Generator for 13 months and it has really flown by for me, dragged a little for those around me.

It has been really good to catch up — and I hope to grab more coffees and chats with you.

They have now reconnected and Gavin uses our Quayhouse occasionally so he can catch up with Martin. This shows how great a community can be. They create friendships and business partners and now we have found that they can also reunite old friends.

It may be a little cliche but here at The Generator we really are all about connecting people and creating a community for everyone. This story is just one of the many connections that have been made here.

The End.

--

--

Generator Hub

We are Exeter’s first coworking hub. We are a community of collaborative and innovative freelancers, start ups and small businesses.