A Day In The Life Of A Software Engineer At Genesys Tech Hub

Lynda
Genesys Tech Hub
Published in
3 min readOct 23, 2021

In this new interview series, we will be letting you into the different career roles of the humans of Genesys. The aim of this is to inspire people looking to dive into this niche/career line.

On today's episode is Victor Offordile, a Software Engineer at the hub.

Hey Victor, tell us about you?

Hey, I am Offordile Chimaobi Victor, but you call me Vicman. I am a Software Engineer at Genesys Tech Hub. I am also a Mathematician and a graduate of Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka, with First Class Honors, Department of Mathematics. I am also a leader. I occupied a few posts while I was in school: President, National Association of Mathematical Science Students of Nigeria (2019–2021) and President,Department of Mathematics (2019–2021). I am a believer in Christ, who loves and does the ways of God. You would see me watching a movie or reading leadership books if I am not working with my laptop. I really don't have a social life. I am also an Introvert but started relating with people much better recently.

How did you become a backend developer at Genesys?

I went through the Learnable Internship (Learnable'19), where I learnt a lot and went deeper after the internship in backend development. At the end of my final year, I got a job offer from Genesys.

What have you learnt at your job?

I have learnt a lot. First, I have improved in backend development using NodeJs. I am in so many communities where posts of the best approach in problem-solving get dropped. I have also improved my communication skills. Since I am in a team, effective/efficient communication is needed to get the work done. So with that, I have improved a whole lot in my communication skills. I have also become a better team player. I know better how to work in a team—knowing a team member's strengths and weaknesses and knowing the best approach to get the work done efficiently.

What is a day in the life of a backend developer like?

Oh, some days can be a joyful day while some can be so annoying; a joyful day in the aspect of getting all your workflow right and not having any blocker or bug on your way. It is fascinating and rare if you have a growth mindset if you aren’t trying something new. The annoying days are the days that make us, and it helps you think a lot and do research to bypass a bug or blocker. When you have efficiently gotten this done, i.e. getting rid of those blockers or bugs, that is the most joyful moment for not just a backend developer but a developer at large.

What kind of projects do you work on?

I work primarily on backend projects. I am recently trying out DevOps and front-end projects, but basically, the backend project is where I am proficient and always working.

If you weren’t working as a backend developer, what would you be doing?

I probably will be in the classroom lecturing some students on Mathematics.

Want to know more about Genesys Tech Hub? Follow our social media pages and subscribe to our newsletter to stay updated and find the latest career and internship opportunities!

--

--

Lynda
Genesys Tech Hub

Currently fearlessly embracing the spectrum of human emotions.