Master the Game of “NO”

Asa Leveaux
Genius Academy
Published in
2 min readMay 29, 2018

Ain’t nobody got time for that?!

This is exactly the basic response that I receive when I tell those that desire to become entrepreneurs that mastering the game of “no is essential to their entrepreneurial and personal well-being.

Let me tell you what I mean.

A few days ago I posted on social media, “When was the last time you received a no?”. My intent with asking that question is to see who was playing bigger and continually being in action. See I don’t view the word no as a “fml” moment but rather a gage as to the evidence of my turning a dream into a vision and a vision into a plan and a plan into results. For instance, when I published my first book I asked friends and close family members if they would purchase a copy. I received a resounding yes from each of them. Looking back on it, I can see that getting those expected yeses at the beginning gave me the strength to endure the no’s. When it came time to pitch my book to podcasts, radio shows and morning tv shows I finally began to receive more of the no’s. I did however collect yeses and able to benefit from podcasts, radio shows and morning tv shows but not without those invaluable no’s.

DON’T TAKE IT PERSONAL!

In the book, “The Four Agreements” written by don Miguel Ruiz, he states that a key to having a better life is not take things personal. At times many of us fall into the trap of doing this exact thing when we hear someone tell us no. But why? One reason is that we feel as though the person isn’t just saying no to an opportunity, product or service but that they are saying no to OUR product, OUR opportunity or OUR service. What we are doing is making what we create become extensions of who we are so that when someone tells us no it feels like they are saying no to us and that feels like our value is being stomped on with a malicious vigor.

WHAT’S THE TAKEAWAY?

The takeaway is…GET MORE NO’S! You read that exactly right. Make it your point to get so many no’s a day. The reason why I say that is because my experience has taught me that you are only a request away from a “yes” that will change your life.

WHAT’S ANOTHER TAKEAWAY?

The takeaway is…GET MORE NO’S! You read that exactly right. The reason why I say that is because my experience has taught me that you are only a request away from a “yes” that will change your life.

Asa Leveaux is the founder of Genius Academy™. For more information visit www.geniusacademy.co

--

--

Asa Leveaux
Genius Academy

Asa Leveaux resides in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma and is the father of one son. He writes about entrepreneurship & LGBTQ issues. America’s #1 EntreQUEERner Coach.