Poetry | Sincerity

I Apologise

GiaB prompt #2–9: apologies

Carolyn Hastings
Genius in a Bottle
Published in
3 min readSep 4, 2022

--

My cymbidium orchid (author’s own photo)

I apologise in advance if what I say here offends you
I apologise if you think none of this is true

I apologise for having the need to speak my mind
I apologise for taking up your sweet, precious time

I apologise for not noticing how you’re always so busy
I apologise for confusing it with you often being lazy

I apologise for being the pain in your arse
I apologise for knowing what you really are

I apologise for not agreeing you’re above the law
I apologise for being smarter than you credit me for

I apologise for defending all that I believe in
I apologise for choosing to ‘do good’ while you sin

I apologise for showing you up for being wrong, wrong, wrong, wrong
I apologise for swearing we can never, and never will, get along

I apologise in case you take all this too personally
I apologise for it despite it not being my responsibility

I won’t ever apologise for telling you the truth
I do apologise for not having the…

--

--

Carolyn Hastings
Genius in a Bottle

Well-practiced speech pathologist now practicing to be a children’s book writer — emphasis on practicing.