It’s Been 24 Years

A free verse poem about fathers

Bhavnaa Narula
Genius in a Bottle

--

(My dad and me) Image by author

It has been 24 years
since I used the word ‘Dad’.
The man who worked day and night
to give me the life he thought I deserved.

He would get super excited about my achievements,
more than I could ever be.
He bought me gifts despite being jobless,
for my smile was all that mattered to him.

He could go to any extent to protect me,
not a single scratch, I should earn.
I was his daughter, his pride
It is this unconditional love that I absolutely yearn.

This poem is dedicated to my dad. It has been 24 years since I lost him, and every year I am shocked to see how time just flies. Despite getting just 8 years to spend with him, I have collected pretty amazing memories of him, that I can cherish for the rest of my life. Of course, I miss all of his pampering and attention, but nothing that I can do about it. Just to be able to express feelings in this way, makes me feel happy, I chose writing, and writing chose me back.

©Bhavna Narula,2020.

--

--

Bhavnaa Narula
Genius in a Bottle

I am a dancer who writes what her heart dictates. My Insta ID- theaquarianparadise/ thedancingparadise28