My Ice Cream is on Fire!

100 Word Microfiction

--

Photo by Jenny Smith on Unsplash

Our clothes were sticky. We didn’t have air conditioning in the car.

Sweat dripped down my seven-year-old forehead.

Mom handed me a perfect scoop of bubblegum ice cream in a crispy sugar cone.

“Thank you, Mom.”

I went to lick the ice cream and started screaming bloody murder.

“What!? What’s wrong?!”

Looking down at my ice cream, I saw smoke swirling up. I flung the ice cream cone out the window and started crying.

Mom was confused and upset, “Why’d you do that?”

“It’s…it’s on fire,” I said through my tears.

“Oh, honey. That’s just steam,” she said.

--

--

Aimée Brown Gramblin
Genius in a Bottle

Age of Empathy founder. Creativity Fiend. Writer, Editor, Poet: life is art. Nature, Mental Health, Psychology, Art. Audio: aimeebrowngramblin.substack.com