Parenting

From a daughter’s perspective

Rach K
Genius in a Bottle
2 min readSep 25, 2020

--

Photo by Jude Beck on Unsplash

You see,
there came a point in my life when it dawned on me
the truth,
that life-changing truth
that
my parents are only humans,
they’re not saints,
they’re not God
and it’s hard to admit that:
they are flawed

Growing up thinking that these two people are supreme
they’re mom and dad after all
they make life, life
being a superhuman is like their job right?

They did everything just for me,
there’s no logic
Who does that for another human being?
They are pure magic

Oh and I made so many cards
deeming them as lion-hearts,
as for that 10 year old naive me
the reality was like Rapunzel’s arts

But I realize this as I grow old,
their ‘got it all’ attitude is
no more sold

They make mistakes
and they have their own issues,
their own emotional baggage
of goals and dreams and sacrifices

They had to overcome many fears
including that of lizards and cockroaches
and mom PMS’s and has hormonal imbalances

They don’t like pumpkin, they don’t eat their greens,
they like junk food and sweats,
and sometimes, they can be such teens

They get under bad influence and need reprimanding
they need help with the wardrobe,
a reminder to get off Watsapp
and to take a break from Instagraming

Hence it’s quite a revelation
and sort of a juxtaposition,
that parents need parenting too:
by their own children

--

--

Rach K
Genius in a Bottle

l adore the German phrase ‘Die Gedanken sind frei’ , English translation-‘The thoughts are free’ and I aim to write and live in that spirit