‘GENIUS IN A BOTTLE’ PROMPTED WRITING CHALLENGE

Sorry Dear Shopping Lovers

GiaB writing prompt #5 shopping

Myriam Ben Salem🦋
Genius in a Bottle
Published in
4 min readOct 28, 2020

--

I was supposed to go to Paris during winter sales. A friend of mine succeeded in convincing me we would have so much fun. Somehow, I believed her!

Everything was settled for the adventure: flight tickets, hotel, plan — my friend took care of preparing obviously. 😁

Three days before, she called me. I could feel she was embarrassed and not sure how to formulate what she needed to say.

  • Please forgive me, but I’ll not be able to join…
  • What do you mean? Is this a bad joke?
  • I’m afraid it’s not. My boyfriend I didn’t see in a year is taking me to Rome.
  • I’m confused… How come he didn’t know about our plan?
  • Well, we had a big fight 2 weeks ago and we didn’t talk to each other since then. This surprise is his way to say sorry, and I simply can’t let him down!
  • You must be kidding me… I didn’t even wanna go, but I can’t afford to lose money at the same time…
  • I know and I’m so sorry for real, Myriam.

She chose him over me, which impacted our friendship, but that’s not the point. What I didn’t tell you…

--

--

Myriam Ben Salem🦋
Genius in a Bottle

A fur Momma, animal lover & advocate, lifelong learner, storyteller, edutainer, and published author. I write personal stories and essays.