Grammy Family Week| Best Rock Performance & Best Traditional R&B Performance

Yvonne Wilkins
GeniusTalk
Published in
3 min readFeb 10, 2017

Yo! It’s the realest member of Genius Talk, the one and only Chocolate Goddess straight from the motherland of Africa. I’m here to share with you my Grammy reviews. I hope you like it!

— Yvonne

Best Rock Performance

Alabama Shakes — “Joe” (Live From Austin City Limits)

Wow, this is rock? THE LEAD SINGER IS A PLUMP BLACK WOMAN. Yasss. “Joe” sounds more like the blues to me. Who categorizes this shit anyway?

Beyonce Featuring Jack White- “Don’t Hurt Yourself”

Yo, What the hell is rock? When was Beyonce rock? Once again, who categorizes this. I’m not even hating, I’m really confused.

David Bowie- “Blackstar”

This might actually be rock, but this song is so freakin weird, and the video?? There’s a woman with a rat’s tail coming out of her dress walking around a deserted city. I’m disturbed by this video, and also disturbed by this song. I am not sure how anyone would like it. I don’t want this to win. David Bowie is creepy as hell.

Disturbed- “The Sound of Silence” (Live on Conan)

The lead singer’s voice sounds just as much as an Adam’s family uncle live, as it does on the track. So at least they’re authentic. As a live performance this shit starts out boring as hell. I would have been in the audience at Conan falling asleep and drooling. The performance picks up a little in the middle, but in a scary movie murder scene kind of way. Wo! At the end of the performance he starts this growling yelling voice. I’m not feeling it.

Twenty One Pilots- “Heathens”

I love this song! WE HAVE A WINNER. I love Bey, but let’s let the rockers keep their category. I like this song because I know it in real life. I had to look up some of the other nominees. I wouldn’t normally listen to this genre of music but I fux with Heathens. The tracks ability to attract a young ratchet like myself makes it a winner in my book.

Best Traditional R&B Performance

William Bell- “The Three of Me”

I’ve never heard of William Bell. The Three of Me” is a slow song with a good message, but it sounds like an opening of a throwback sitcom. The Three of me: a sitcom about a man with multiple personalites. The song isn’t about mutiple personalities, it’s talking about the past, present, and future man. He’s saying losing his main chick made him realize that he was a piece of shit in the past. This song was type boring. Not the winner.

BJ The Chicago Kid- “Woman’s World”

Now this sounds like traditional R&B. BJ The Chicago Kid is one smooth mutha jumpa. I think he is definitely a contender in this category. I agree, this is definitely a woman’s world. Tell the people how you feel BJ.

Fantasia- “Sleeping With the One I Love”

One thing I can say about Fantasia is that she is super talented. I Like this song and her voice sounds beautiful and smooth. The video is cute too. Fantasia WINS this category.

Lalah Hathaway- “Angel”

Ok, this is a classic rendition of Anita Baker’s Angel. Interesting because Anita Baker never won a Grammy for the original track. I wasn’t super amazed by the Lalah Hathaway performance. I think it sounds too much like the original. Nothing really stood out to me.

Jill Scott- “Can’t Wait”

Jilly from Philly! She didn’t give me life on this track. It was not memorable. Like I had to listen to it to review it, and I think I’ve heard it before but I am just not 100% sure. With that being said, sorry Jilly, you’re iconic, but this track wasn’t.

--

--