Our Very First Album Review | Coloring Book (Archived)

Kenneth Velez
GeniusTalk
Published in
5 min readDec 1, 2016

--

Kenny: Already sold on this Chance. I’m 30 seconds in on Track 1. I hope it doesn’t disappoint. I didn’t fuck with all of Acid Rap like that.

Dayo: Listening now. We should go song by song with reviews.

Chance The Rapper recently dropped his highly anticipated mixtape Coloring Book. My friends and I like dope shit. Chance makes dope shit so we decided to listen to the album simultaneously — Dayo and Yvonne in NYC, me in Dallas and Maegan on some remote island off the coast of Thailand no one has ever heard of. Maegan is 11 hours ahead of me and naturally a terrible person so she provided zero input and Yvonne never responds to texts. Remember in high school, when you would be paired up with a group to do a report and do all the work, but still had to put their name on it? That’s basically what’s happening here.

All We Got (feat. Kanye West & Chicago Children’s Choir)

K: I don’t know if it’s the DatPiff audio but Chance’s verse to Kanye’s part on the hook is stupid low. Like Kanye and the horns come in all distorted and shit and it’s super loud. ‘Ye sounds like Stephen Hawking on the hook too.

D: LOL. DatPiff has never heard of CDQ and never will.

No Problem (feat. Lil Wayne & 2 Chainz)

K: I fux with it. Can’t wait to hear Wayne’s subpar bars. Heard he washed Chance on this song doe. Let’s see..

D: Fuck. I forget I have an 11:00 am meeting.

K: GODDAMN.

D: Hold that thought! Kenny proceeds to do whatever the opposite of holding your thought is. So I end up giving no input either. Sorry for the slander Mae.

K: 2 Chainz verse wasn’t bad. Fav line was “Inside of the Maybach looking like IKEA.”

K: Oh shit, Wayne byke?? This sound close to C3 Wayne. This almost has a Let the Beat Build feel.

K: Wow: Wayne skated like the Olympic trials on this shit.

K: Wayne =

Summer Friends (feat. Jeremih & Francis and the Lights)

K: Solid so far. Chance flowing like an open faucet; so smooth. I can already tell I will need to re-listen to this song a couple more times to catch all those bars.

K: Bro. Jeremih might have one of the best voices in music. He’s everything Bobby Valentino was supposed to be. He could do any genre I feel and make it hot.

D.R.A.M. Sings Special

K: Okay. Nice lil DRAM feach (feature). A lil something something. Didn’t hate it. Blends in nicely.

Blessings

K: He performed this on SNL? Fallon? One of those shows. Chance always got the dope church bars. I feel like such a sinner.

Same Drugs

K: I feel like this song can’t literally be about taking drugs. Clearly a metaphor for him and girl not being on the same level anymore. He’s grown and advanced and she isn’t??? Has to be.

That was a good song. Love the strings, the singing…everything. I’m excited for this next track with Thugga and Yachty. Love me some ignant shit.

Mixtape (feat. Young Thug & Lil Yachty)

K: Woo! Woo! Woo! Woo! Shit fucking BUMPS! Thugga might be the only one after Chance who cares about mixtapes. He drops a new tape like every week it seems. Omgee. Thugga skating and he just saying random shit per usual. I can kinda make out like 1/3 of his verse. Still got a fire flow. I love Yachty too. His one verse on this song is pretty much better than anything on his last tape.

Angels (feat. Saba)

K: Angels. Heard this one already too. This been out for a minute, right? Love when Chance mentions stuff I’ve heard in old ‘Ye lines. I briefly got distracted watching an interview with Gronk about the time he wore the onesie with OBJ at Drake’s. Anyway, back to the musica.

Juke Jam (feat. Justin Bieber & Towkio)

K: Featuring Biebs?! This some smooth shit. Oh man. God damn. Bieber Gawd. Killing shit. I see you Chance! Singing and shit. Shoutout to him for shouting out Take You Down by Breezy. Dayo already knows. I forgot that Chance was on Bieber’s last album before Purpose. “Confident” is the song. That was a banger. That album was so overlooked man. Bieber been putting out quality music!!

All Night (feat. Knox Fortune)

K: Shit is jiggy. I don’t hate it. Switches up the style. A lot more upbeat than the last couple of songs. I can hear this shit in H&M while a playa looking for extra slim scarves and shit.

How Great (feat. Jay Electronica & My Cousin Nicole)

K: Okay. Halfway through and it’s just a choir hymn. God is pretty great, we get it. Ah, ok like 2:50 in, we got the beat drop. Need some bars now… Chance floating as usual. Jay Elect brought the bars too, but he be talking all that upper echelon black excellence stuff and I’m lost. I feel like I need to read a history book after I listen to Elect.

Smoke Break (feat. Future)

K: At first, I wouldn’t think this would be a beat I would hear Fute (pronounced “fewtch”) on, but I really like the melody. I like it a lot. Future floats. Chance really brings out the best in everyone.

Finish Line Drown (feat. T-Pain, Kirk Franklin, Eryn Allen Kane & Noname)

K: T-Pain aka Teddy Penderassdown. The OG. Remember when Future was the new T-Pain for a minute? This absolutely sounds like a song Pain would be on. It’s such a feel good song. This second part of the song is dope too. I don’t know who this girl is, but she’s spitting. Chance make the type of music that in movies, you will see the character walking down the street and then people just start joining — singing and dancing and shit. Oh shit! Kirk! I was expecting a sermon from him. He’s more like a hype-man on this track. Still feel sanctified.

Blessings

K: Last song on this tape. Track 14. Also called Blessings. Interesting. He’s giving that real talk right now, Drake 30 for 30 style. Oh shit — is this Dolla $ign?! Sounds like him in the background. Probably not. Would assume he’d be credited but either way flame emojis.

Final Thoughts

K: Overall, I give this tape an A. Probably deserves an A+, but I personally wouldn’t drive around listening to this. I Like Chance, but I’m not the spiritual type, but I respect and appreciate the artistry.

And there you have it folks. Looks like Chance did a good ass job with Chance 3….I mean Coloring Book. (If you don’t know where this reference is from, unfriend me now.)

You can listen to ‘Coloring Book’ on Spotify here.

--

--