My Personality As Seen From My Whole Genome Data — Sorry, the Genomelink Founder is “Less Agreeable”

How genetics offers insight into your personality and more

Genomelink
Genomelink
4 min readMay 3, 2018

--

Hey guys, my name is Tomo and I’m the CEO of Genomelink. I’m going to explore the world of personal genomics today by looking at my whole genome data and the personality features that can be inferred from it.

What’s Whole Genome Data?

Whole genome data is 100% of your genetic information. It is constructed of a series of 3,000,000,000 letters — As, Ts, Gs, and Cs. What used to cost $3 billion for analysis of a single genome has continued to drop in price and at present costs $1–2k, but prices are forecasted to drop below $100 soon. I took advantage of Genomelink to link up my genome data and access all kinds of interesting genetic traits based on the latest genomics research.

Today we’re going to look at my “genetic personality” interpreted from my whole genome data. Below is a screenshot of my DNA dashboard.

More than 25 personality traits are available on Genomelink now!

OK, Let’s See… My “Genetic Personality” Results

● Low level of agreeableness (unfortunately for my team…)

Agreeableness is one of the personality traits in the five-factor model, a well-known assessment framework used in psychology. Agreeableness is the tendency to show compassion, trust, and be helpful or cooperative toward others.

Verdict: True

I’m strong-willed with a firm sense of independence. Ever since I was a child, I’ve preferred to take the path less trodden — I go against the crowd and rarely follow popular opinion. (It makes sense that I started my own company.)

● Low level of neuroticism (= very optimistic)

A neurotic person is prone to experiencing negative feelings like anxiety, depression, and emotional instability. Psychologists define neuroticism as one of the Big 5 psychological traits that form the basis of personality.

Verdict: True

My upbringing, education, and experience have conditioned me to tackle problems after evaluating all the risks, but I feel there’s always an optimistic part of me that thinks “everything’s going to be just fine.”

● Low level of anger (yes)

The quality of feeling easily angered or not is inherited. Anger is the state of feeling or showing rage and aggression. The genetic variation may be caused by the differential amount of chemicals released in the brain when we experience upsetting situations, which contribute to a greater or lesser physiological and psychological response in those situations.

Verdict: True

I rarely get angry or enraged and I sometimes even struggle to show the emotion of “anger” even when it’s needed.

● High level of harm avoidance (as an entrepreneur, I like this)

Harm avoidance is a tendency to gear actions toward things with a low likelihood of potential physical or emotional harm. Individuals with high harm avoidance behavior tend to be more fearful, doubtful, and shy.

Verdict: True

I don’t want to get hurt (does anybody?). But, some would say life is all about taking risks! Unfortunately, I’ve always been one to avoid trying something I don’t think I’d be good at or succeed with. I guess a more positive interpretation of this would be that I have good risk management skills. I’m keenly aware of this trait in day-to-day life when I am forced to engage in high-risk decision making for my own business.

● High gambling tendency (really?)

Gambling, when done within reason, can be an entertaining leisure activity. But excessive and uncontrolled gambling, which is often tied to personality and other disorders, can be extremely dangerous. Early investigations into the link between genetic markers and gambling addiction have found associations, with genes identified in the brain’s reward and impulse control systems.

Verdict: Maybe true…

I don’t engage in gambling for fun, but I can’t deny that I’m taking a huge gamble by starting a business…

● Experience more eudaimonic well-being (= I am happy)

Eudaimonic well-being refers to the satisfaction experienced through self-actualization. Eudaimonism defines well-being through the continued fulfillment of purpose and meaning in life, as well as growth as a human being through that process. It is one of two distinguishable forms of well-being, with the other being hedonic well-being.

Verdict: True

I couldn’t agree with this more. This is kind of my philosophy. I think I’m good at being happy wherever I am and whatever I’m doing. I try to find joy and meaning in my life in simple ways and with small achievements in daily work.

● Experience loneliness more (I need your love)

Loneliness, the negative emotional response to isolation, is on the rise in modern society. How easily an individual experiences loneliness can be influenced by the existence of several genetic markers, but it is largely shaped by a person’s age and environment.

Verdict: Very, very true

I know I am less agreeable. But the team at Genomelink and my friends, please remember that I feel more loneliness. I need your love.

Thoughts on genetic personality…

The friends and colleagues I’ve shown the results to all say that these genetic personality traits are spot on. I myself am surprised by how accurate the results are!

Genomics research that uses bioinformatics to interpret a person’s personality is still in the developmental stages. On the other hand, long-running sociological research in twins has already demonstrated strong evidence of the genetic influence on personality.

Try it out for yourself!

For those of you with DNA data from 23andMe, Ancestry, or MyHeritage:

You can check out your own genetic personality tendencies on your DNA Dashboard after uploading your DNA data to Genomelink. Give it a go!

>> Check My DNA Personality Profile <<

Don’t have an account yet? Sign up now.

--

--

Genomelink
Genomelink

A leader in DNA analysis. Ancient ancestry, 300+ unique traits, comparison tools, and more. Start free by uploading your existing DNA test at genomelink.io.