Taking time off for myself

Megan Tee
Dreamer’s Journal
3 min readSep 8, 2019

--

Photo by Matthew Henry from BurstCopy code

I took the weekend to just stay home, after mostly running around for most of the other days. Whether it was to libraries, volunteer, or work.

And when the weekend came, I just wanted some desperate time off. Just to sit around and enjoy the smaller things in life. Or be able to just indulge me. Since I’m on a school break anyway.

Or at least when I did not feel as though I really wanted to do anything or something. Or it didn’t work. Sometimes I just have to admit that I’m not entirely up for it. And then work with it.

And that’s fine.

It happens. And I recognize it and just decide that perhaps I should take a break. That it would not be a negative thing but somewhat positive for myself and experiences.

Sometimes I need it so that I don’t feel burned out in any way or form. And I shouldn’t just beat myself up over the lack of any updates or writing.

Because sometimes it happens. Sometimes I just can’t get to it, and that is for me to find a better way to get around it. To make myself feel inspired about creating again, as compared to just telling myself that I’m not doing this right.

As forcing myself just doesn’t get me anywhere. And eventually, even I will find a lack of any reason to really continue.

I could do it for a rather long period. But eventually, I will return back to the conclusion that it wasn’t the best thing. That perhaps I should have done a little listening to myself. Or when I just feel so tired.

Rather than trying to find and figure out why. Before changing appropriately. So that I can figure out why I feel that way instead of saying just pushing on until I just figured out that I really don’t want to be doing it.

I made an adjustment to my writing process recently, because it was exhausting to keep up. Eventually, I found that I needed to change.

And I should embrace it. It was worth a shot, and if I didn’t like it. I could just change it back to my old one, or find a completely new and different method.

But if I’m not happy they shouldn’t be staying the same. I should be changing because it at least has the chance of working. And the more I stay with what clearly doesn’t work, the more I don’t like it.

Just as I have spent most of the past month just taking things slow, taking time off. And then carefully rethinking the decisions so I won’t get exhausted. Or nearly as exhausted as before.

Or at least feeling as though I’m nowhere. When it’s the actual methods that I’m using that’s keeping me nowhere. And what I needed to do was always think and look back, and then be willing to change and adopt something new.

Even if it doesn’t work, it doesn’t mean that it’s a failure. It just says that I learned something about myself.

And it’s okay to just let it be sometimes. It’s okay to just take time for yourself and ensure that you’re ready for the challenge.

--

--

Megan Tee
Dreamer’s Journal

Writer, dreamer, always always working on my novel, caffeine affect, dabbling in game development and caffeine addiction. Went from tech to the social sciences.