Your motivation must come from within

Megan Tee
Dreamer’s Journal
3 min readSep 9, 2019

--

Photo by Matthew Henry from Burst

This is the lesson we always but that can rarely be the case. I admit I was enthralled by Medium because I could earn. And seeing how some writers made a living out of their writing, it was certainly encouraging.

Even as I admit, I have only earned over a dollar in the past three weeks. Sounds nothing like the success many imagine; I did so too. But it’s okay because it’s a start.

But if that was all it caught me, the opportunity to earn easy money, then I would have left. Like so many things I have done before. Heck, with even more passion and drive than this.

Money can only keep someone going for so long. If it was money I was really after, I will have kept the previous job I had. I earned quite a bit, but I didn’t want that. Because after a while, even the money didn’t seem like a good substitute when I was absolutely miserable. I hated going to work, and there was once when I couldn’t get any sleep.

So I quit, I found a reason to wriggle out of work for the last two weeks. Once I got my pay, I quit. I had earned and had enough. Nothing about it could really get me back.

But despite earning barely a pittance, I’m still going. In fact, I’m even more driven than I ever have before. Because the answer as I learned was from within. It was something that I had found.

I entered Medium for the first time. I had exhausted basically all options beforehand. I had only thought about it because it seemed easy. It was not, even as I’m about to pass my first month on Medium.

But I never found it to be difficult, it was enjoyable. Just as much as this has made me so self-aware. It made me realize a lot more about myself, questioning plenty of decisions when it was needed or even necessary. And looking at it with introspection was amazing for me. I learned so much about it.

It also made me so satisfied. Then, the money just didn’t seem to matter anymore. I enjoyed reading and writing on here, I enjoyed all the time I spent on writing each work.

Even as it was trial and error, in a way that I didn’t expect. Some of them I will just look a mere three weeks later, and regret it. Yes, I have regretted quite a bit of the writing I did here. But I was also so very proud of some of them.

Just as I’m convinced to see my month of writing a piece for Medium each day to the end. Because it has given me so much insight into who I am and kept me going. As much as it was such a great place for me to really share my experiences but also to expand my mind, and at the same time understand who I was.

And of course, understanding how to find something deep within myself to keep me going.

--

--

Megan Tee
Dreamer’s Journal

Writer, dreamer, always always working on my novel, caffeine affect, dabbling in game development and caffeine addiction. Went from tech to the social sciences.