Here’s Why Art Journaling Could Help You Right Now

I was sceptical at first, but the process changed my life.

Froyle Davies
George St Gallery

--

Photo by bruce mars on Unsplash

I haven’t been consistent at writing a journal of any kind. Not in a notebook, diary or even digital form. I always had good intentions. I would buy a beautiful new leather-bound journal and start well, but within three to four days, the novelty would wear off, and suddenly I couldn’t find the time. I could find a hundred different reasons not to sit down and write my innermost thoughts.

So the consideration of an art journal was even further from my top ranking to-do list. The thought of making loosely written texts into something pretty with pictures and colourful backgrounds seemed a ridiculous amount of energy to spend on a journal idea. Especially as no one would see it. I was accustomed to exhibiting my art, paintings worthy of an adoring audience. But this creative process came into my life and changed everything I had preconceived about the subject. At the moment, in this current post-pandemic climate, I think the art journal is worth having a closer look at again.

What is an art journal?

A few years ago, I was running some creative art workshops in a small art supplies business in my home town, Queensland, Australia. The owner of the art shop, Lisa, was teaching…

--

--

Froyle Davies
George St Gallery

Art, Creativity, and Inspiration. Stories to encourage you. Visual artist and hostel manager, living in New Zealand. www.froyleart.com