I Give You My Secrets For Making Exceptional Collage Papers

How to create a beautiful mixed media painting.

Froyle Davies
George St Gallery

--

In The Right Time, mixed media collage, 101 x 76cm (photo by author)

I absolutely love creating mixed media paintings. The combination of textures and collage elements allows for an unrestricted approach to creating art. Your art supplies don’t have to be expensive, and you can make the most beautiful papers yourself. You will just need a little courage, some basic materials and time for experimentation.

This article outlines my favourite techniques for creating interesting papers and how to use them.

I only use acrylic and water-based paint and inks. Being water-soluble makes the creative process less toxic on the lungs, easier to clean up, and all the paint varieties will mix together without pigment separation. Here is my article on The Best Paint To Use For A Beautiful Collage Painting.

Making collage paper is an exciting process. Sometimes I will spend an entire day just making papers to use for another time. I decide on specific colour schemes, and then create papers with those palettes in mind. After the papers are dry, I put them in boxes according to colour groups, so I know where to find them when I need them.

Store-bought papers

--

--

Froyle Davies
George St Gallery

Art, Creativity, and Inspiration. Stories to encourage you. Visual artist and hostel manager, living in New Zealand. www.froyleart.com