25 Memorable Photos of this Decade

George X Lin
georgexlin
Published in
8 min readDec 26, 2019

--

Adventures and Stories Inadvertently Captured From Chasing Photos

There’s a saying that “The Journey is More Important Than The Destination.” For the last decade, photography has been the way I’ve explored this concept. Now that it’s Christmas 2019, I’ve finally had a chance to go through my photo albums and look through the 80,000 photos I’ve taken over the decade to see if there are photos that stood out and bring back hidden memories of the experience. While I may sometimes get the shot I wanted, many times, its the experience from getting the photo that intrigues me more. Some photos will intrigue you, others have a story behind them.

<TLDR, I got better technique-wise over the last decade, but photos are more beautiful when there’s a story behind it. The prettiest photos may not have much story to them. Nostalgia is a bitch. >

2010: Arches National Park. Stepped in a not frozen puddle. A few miles hike to the car. Luckily, another hiker gave me his heat pack.
2010: Hong Kong. Grandfather / Grandson

I initially did not understand why I liked Grandfather / Grandson so much other than it plays a trick on the eye. But as I examine the photo more, I realized how the panels (in diagonal lines) lead you to the grandfather and grandson, blocking out their eyes. In a way, this could be me, a few decades ago.

In 2006, my grandfather passed away. I was practically raised by him, but I never had the opportunity to photograph him. The anonymity of the two people in the photo reminded me of my strong relationship with my grandfather. I wish everyone else had the same.

2012: Marin Headlands. Curious Eyes.

For supermoon, a bunch of friends and I, who initially started Bay Area Photography Club, went to the headlands and tried to wait for the moon to rise. Among the sea of photographers, is this family just trying to get photos of themselves. I guess they didn’t want their 3 kids in the photos as all of them were on the ground behind them with the oldest holding the youngest one from walking over the ledge.

The photo of the super moon was not worth it. It was the difference between a 12" pizza vs 12.2" pizza. I couldn’t really tell the difference. But I sure enjoyed observing the spectators.

2012: Trekking on the unmaintained portion of the great wall. Creepy because of its emptiness & vastness.
2012: Linked Hybrid, Bei Jing.

I’m notorious for getting lost and wanting to do so in order to learn and discover. In Bei Jing, stumble upon Steven Holl’s Linked Hybrid and walked all the way around and couldn’t go in because I did not know it was was a gated community. The smaller-scale high-density housing next door had a huge contrast to this megaplex of structural wonder. But the more I observed, the more I saw how similar they were. You can explore the car-free alleys and unexpecting mini squares found throughout the areas next to the building. In some ways, it was way more active because kids from nearby neighborhoods would come over to use the public spaces. It was definitely more vibrant than the Linked Hybrid. While Holl may argue that he’s creating a city within a city, there was already one right next door.

2013: Cloud City, San Francisco.

Many had hoped to see fog under the bridge but few have the dedication. My buddies and I had done this run many times and have been very unsuccessful. Usually, the fog is just too high covering the bridge. The night before this run, 4 of the original party of 6 dropped out. So my buddy Nathan and I took my two-seater and we went. Apparently many photogs had the same idea as parking was difficult. It was one of the most magical sunrises I’ve ever seen. Finally a success after many failures. I have not been lucky enough to witness it again.

Timelapse
2013: Mardi Gras, New Orleans.

I didn’t think Mardi Gras was such a party. It literally means “Fat Tuesday” in French. Supposedly, reflecting on the practices of the last night of eating rich, fatty foods before the ritual fasting of the Lenten season. I kinda slept through it all because a buddy and I weren’t feeling particularly well that night. But the party goes on hard for everyone. Everyone I saw the next morning looked like zombies. I found these three in front of their hotel lobby. The party did not look like it has ended for them. The mind is willing but the body…

2014: Redwood National Park. Spending 6 hours driving to a place but only 5 hours hiking in it. I miscalculated how big California is.
2014: Jokulsarlon Glacier Cave.

In order to go to a glacier cave, one must ride an offroad vehicle across a frozen river, hike up an ice hill, down a crevasse and wade across a glacier stream. We didn’t see a pretty cave, but the journey, sheer size, and majestic light certain made it one of the most interesting adventures I’ve ever been on. I published a PetaPixel article about the experience but I quickly learned that the internet doesn’t care about how hard the journey is, they just want to see the destination images…No wonder people say photography is dying

2016: Sonoma Lavender Fields

On Instagram, you may see many amazing images, but few actually reveal their process or their setup. I get many questions about what camera or lens. A good photo is more than just having a good camera and lens. Being in the right place at the right time is a must, but if that isn’t possible, one makes good use of light and put their mind to figure it out. This image is only successful because there was a team of people working on getting the subject lite properly. The subject is backlit and therefore required a fill light from the reflector.

This was also one of the last times the Bay Area Photography Club met monthly. From here on end, we basically met yearly or none at all (RIP).

The setup & tests.

Landscape 2, 2016: Angel’s Landing (or Perhaps Devils)

Taking your younger sister and your mom on a winter hike was a bad idea. I was in way over my head. I should have stopped when I saw 30+ degree slopes on an icy/snowy trail. I was the only one that made it 95% of the way. It was so hard that even I didn’t finish. The photo above shows you the rest of the trail that I didn’t want to take and the photo below shows you the conditions. I will never hike in winter again if it involves snow, other people, and chains. The full article here.

The crazy climb….
2016: Grand Canyon is freaking cold in the winter.
2017: Firefall Yosemite.

One of the most serendipitous moment of an impromptu trip to Yosemite was finding out that we were there during the Firefall. The photo group had no idea. We were merely talking to people at a scenic viewpoint. It turns out we went on the right weekend. The week before it hasn’t started yet. The week after, it was cloudy. Luck does play a huge part in Landscape Photography. The crowds, however, made it one of the least enjoyable photography experiences I’ve ever had. Video below.

2016: Yosemite Valley Fog. Hoping to strike Firefall again the week after, but it was completely foggy.
2017: California Academy of Sciences. Sometimes, it takes a god-like view to see how designers think.
2017: Sutro Baths, San Francisco. Taken many people here, but first time for maternity photos.
2018: Downtown vs Midtown, NYC. Never sick of the skyline view.
2018: Big Sur. Never thought I’ll see bioluminescence in California
2018: Fall in western Sierra. I miss the East Coast. But I can find the colors here if I try hard enough.
2018: Plumas National Forest, CA

The full story of chasing fall colors is in the link below. TLDR: It’s possible to see fall colors in California. Never go to a small town for Halloween unless you plan to partake in the festivities. They party so hard, hotels burn down.

2018: Big Sur Meteor Shower. I wasn’t happy with the initial attempt and ended up going way south to get the shot.
2019: Field of Light by Bruce Munro in Paso Robles.
2019: Lone Tree, Wanaka. Everyone has this shot, but I like how mine is all fog.
2019: MilkyWay, Tekapo. The Expanse (our galaxy).
2019: Roys Peak, Wanaka, New Zealand.

The full article about Roy’s peak hike is in the link below. TLDR: Getting the shot means getting there early but sometimes you get there too early and wait around in the cold. Don’t get sick on vacation.

The 2010s have been an exciting decade for me. I moved, changed professions, and settled down a bit. I don’t know what my next decade holds for me. But I hope that I will have just as much nostalgia looking through the images then as I did now.

If you enjoyed this article or the images, make sure to like it. If you loved it, follow me and find more of my work at www.georgexlin.com

--

--

George X Lin
georgexlin

Designer/Licensed Architect, Educator/Visual storyteller, Digital Fabrication/Rapid Prototyping Wizard, & Image Sorcerer…