Cathedral of Christ the Light

George X Lin
georgexlin
Published in
1 min readSep 30, 2008

Located in the intersection of Harrison and west Grand, Oakland California, Cathedral of Christ the Light (CCL) is the seat of the Bishop of Oakland. Since my company work across the street from it, We were given a tour of the cathedral before it was opened to the public. It was completely brand new with people still install the interior water elements while we were visiting. Do I have to mention all the great design work SOM has put into this? Its pretty self explanatory when you see the photos. While taking exterior shots of this place. I got stopped by the FBI…… Apparently they work in one of the buildings that was in my composition. I was approached by 2 FBI agents that went through all my photos. So note this: FBI wallets are long and their badges are not shiny. Now you know.

Check more about CCL on Wiki

--

--

George X Lin
georgexlin

Designer/Licensed Architect, Educator/Visual storyteller, Digital Fabrication/Rapid Prototyping Wizard, & Image Sorcerer…