Cathy + Jon

George Lin
georgelinwrites
Published in
4 min readApr 29, 2012

--

This pass weekend, I had the pleasure escaping Architecture School to photograph this lovely couple. I’m really happy for them. Its her final week in Boston after they have been on semi Long distance for a bit. They moved around a bit for professional reasons. But finally they are residing together. It was interestingly different this time. I’ve never photographed an engagement session in Boston and I really enjoyed it.

The weather was nice and I’ve already said the couple were lovely, but was more interestingly enough was their friends (Laura and Becky) were also really helpful. I’ve photographed before with friends around, but they usually make the situation more awkward and usually dont help. Not only does it add more pressure on me but it makes the couples less likely to fully engage themselves into the scenario. However, the friends were really helpful. I suddenly got 2 assistant and 4 extra hands. The lighting assistant helped me carry my light stand and set up and held my flash for me. And the other was the mood coordinator. I didn’t have to constantly crack jokes because she played music while giving them the spirit lifting that I usually have to do. When we were photographing on the fire escape, she played “I’m on the Edge” to keep the situation at bay. I lucked out. I also got a lesson about how to break a branch so I don’t dehydrate a tree. Did you know that you can kill a tree by breaking its branch incorrectly….. You’re suppose to cut it perpendicular to the branch so it doesn’t drip itself to death.

We started at Cathy’s apartment but most of the photos were taken in the courtyard of Cathy’s former apartment on Beacon Hill. Becky still lives there and they had access. We had lunch and I guess they learn that Ana’s Tacoaria serves Mexican plates (Burrito without the Wrap in a plate). Do not take pictures on Acorn STREET, its overdone and its annoying to the people that live there. I’m serious, I will never take people there again…….. I should have known.

We hit up the Promenade afterwards and I guess I’ve never felt so cliche…. photographing the nature of the city. I’m a hippy from Cali, I photograph nature in Natural Parks…. But regardless, the images were really awesome. I think I can only get engagement photos like this in Boston.

We finished off at MIT and it was long walk back. So If I had to summarize, the thing I can’t stress more is, getting to know your clients in the beginning pays off. I enjoyed the shoot a lot because I felt a more personal connection with them. I felt that I knew them well enough and after a few safe and fun photos, they started to trust me. I’ve learn that using your clients creativity is a great idea. They sort of know what they want, and I can make it happen. Thanks again CATHY AND JON. It was a great session and I really enjoyed my time out with you guys. I hope you have a pleasant time in DC and I hope we meet again.

--

--

George Lin
georgelinwrites

Designer/Architect, Educator/Visual storyteller, Digital Fabrication/Rapid Prototyping Wizard, & Image Sorcerer…