Kimono Photoshoot at Fushimi Inari-taisha (伏見稲荷大社)

George Lin
georgelinwrites
Published in
3 min readJul 5, 2011

--

Fushimi Inari-taisha
伏見稲荷大社

On 4th of July weekend, the American / Canadian interns of Kengo Kuma went with me to Kyoto by bus from Tokyo for some weekend fun. I had also promised them that I would help them take some photos of their Kimono.

Thank you Chloe and Michelle for providing some free modeling. With a bit of coaching on poses, photography and lighting, it worked out.

The images turned out great and I was modestly happy with them. I think they got a kick out of it too. The Kimono’s they had brought to Kyoto with them were quite nice, but unfortunately because they didn’t know how to put on the belt, it took them a few hours to get to the location of the shoot. I on the other hand went early to the site and got extremely lost………… But never the less. Because timing was a factor, but the shoot time was extremely short.

Equipment used:

Nikon D700, Nikon 17–35 f2.8, Nikon 85mm f1.4, Sb600 flash.

--

--

George Lin
georgelinwrites

Designer/Architect, Educator/Visual storyteller, Digital Fabrication/Rapid Prototyping Wizard, & Image Sorcerer…