MIT 2010

George Lin
georgelinwrites
Published in
4 min readJan 24, 2011

--

This started as a photography project to document my classmates every year. As a premise, I asked them to hold something that would represent themselves and better show the world who they are. While most of them picked their architectural models, some revealed their personalities quite well through what they were holding. This entire set was photographed using Fuji Kodachrome slide film. Because Dwayne Photo was going to stop processing slides, it was a perfect way to finish the last two sets.

I sent out an email below and they all showed up! I was so thankful as it was close to midterms and these are architecture students.

Hey Studio Gang,

Every Year, I do a side project in studio, for the sake of documentary. Last year, we had a very interesting 22 postcard creation.

I was wondering if you guys would be interested in participating this year as well. This year, I will do something similar. The theme will be Portrait and Model. The reason I brought it up is because of the last 2 rolls Kodachrome of film I have….. If you ask your parents they will answer they still make those?…. Sadly, they dont and haven’t been doing so for the last 10 years. there’s only 1 place left in the world that processes this type of film. They will stop processing them mechanically in December. I have 2 rolls left. One for a wedding im shooting in December, and the other one, well, I’m deciding to use it on our studio. Both rolls have been expired for about 3 yrs now, they may create interesting color effects. Unfortunately, they have to be sent to Kansas to be processed… so may take a while to get back. If I see you in studio (after our crazy pin up), I may ask to take a photo of you. Doesn’t have to be today, Tomorrow just anytime I see you when you’re less busy (2 minutes max, hehehe).

Just a heads up so I dont have to retell this story again to all 27 of us.

George X. Lin

--

--

George Lin
georgelinwrites

Designer/Architect, Educator/Visual storyteller, Digital Fabrication/Rapid Prototyping Wizard, & Image Sorcerer…