Radial Grid

National Taiwan University College of Social Sciences, Taipei by Toyo Ito

George X Lin
georgexlin
Published in
3 min readSep 3, 2018

--

So I have only been to one other Toyo Ito library and this does not disappoint. It reminds me of Johnson Wax HQ by Frank Llyod Wright. But of course Ito took the opportunity to update the design by swirling the rigorous grid and letting the columns seem like they are driping down the ceiling.

Frank Llyod Wright Johnson Wax HQ

The columns seems to follow a radial grid. The bookshelves ingeniously tucked between them. The spans varies depending on the programs below. The bookshelves clear for round tables and setting areas very similar to the Johnson Wax HQ.

Unlike the Johnson Wax HQ, the bookshelves almost act like cascading walls; dividing the spaces into zones. Visitors can enjoy the ceiling, but they do not enjoy the expanse of the space. In contrast, Wright’s design wants you to see the large one story space from any moment you stand. I think Ito’s design is fitting for a library.

I feel that the spaces is quite calm. A good space for students to study.

If you enjoyed my articles, make sure to follow me and find more of my work at www.georgexlin.com

--

--

George X Lin
georgexlin

Designer/Licensed Architect, Educator/Visual storyteller, Digital Fabrication/Rapid Prototyping Wizard, & Image Sorcerer…