Gerillass: A short introduction

Halil İbrahim Çakıroğlu
Gerillass
Published in
3 min readJul 28, 2020
Meet the best Sass toolset for the guerrilla type of CSS authors.

About a year ago I decided to make a small Sass library named Gerillass public, which I created for the company I’m currently working on (Turna.com).

I asked my friends that work in the industry if they could need such a library to make their web development processes easy, rapid, and fun. The answer was often “yes.”

But first, I should have learned more about Sass and improved the library with the best practices. Then I rolled up my sleeves to make this library officially look like a library so that everyone can easily access, understand, use, and contribute.

What about the other Sass libraries?

In the mid-2010s, I was aware of Sass libraries like Bourbon, Susy, Scut, of course. However, these libraries were extremely sophisticated to me back then; that is because either I had a lack of knowledge on Sass or the web practices and the needs in the industry I work in Turkey wasn’t advanced enough to force me to use these libraries.

I remember that my primary need wasn’t a solution for the vertical rhythm of the company’s website I worked at.

But now, as a person who comes from the design discipline, I must say that these Sass libraries I mentioned above put a golden key into my hands so that I was able to open that magical door of Sass. Well, thank all of you for that!

On the other hand, I am very grateful to Hugo Giraudel for their contributions to the Sass community. Gerillass, would not have been without Hugo’s articles on Sass.

Where the name Gerillass comes from?

The name Gerillass is a fictitious name that I derive from the words “Guerrilla” and “Sass.”

This made-up word refers to the improvement of guerrilla-style web development processes, namely, creating a fast but non-repetitive, consistent, and scalable CSS outputs.

So what exactly is Gerillass?

Gerillass is an open-source Sass library built on top of Sass to help designers and developers rapidly-produce consistent and scalable CSS outputs regardless of the size of the projects they are working on, aiming to make these processes easy and fun.

It is a collection of Sass mixins and functions.

Needless to say, that you must have a sort of Sass setup installed on your machine to process the Sass related files and work with Gerillass properly.

I won’t go into the Sass installation details, but you can find detailed information on the subject from the links below:

Long talk for a short introduction…

Ok, that’s all for now. For more information about installing and learning how to use Gerillass, please visit the site at https://gerillass.com, and don’t worry; I will soon share posts about the usage in detail, so stay tuned!

I will be grateful for any support, comments, and suggestions.

See you around.

Links:

--

--

Halil İbrahim Çakıroğlu
Gerillass

“The back button is one click away, and you don’t often get a second chance!” says the wiseman.