How to get a driving license in Germany in 2021?

Valentin
Germany 101
Published in
8 min readOct 8, 2021

--

In 2021 Germany had issued (source)1.216.390 driving licenses. In total, every second person in the country is able to drive some kind of vehicle. I am one of them.

Today I will share with you my experience in the field. How long, how much, how difficult to get a driving license in Germany if you are an expat (no german required).

Follow Germany 101 for more stories like this one. Fasten seat belts!

Photo by Art Markiv on Unsplash

How much it costs to get a driving license in Germany from scratch?

Driving license in Germany cost me € 2664,89!

It took 13 months, € 2664,89 and a lot of nerves to pass the exam for category B (automatic) from scratch (0 experience). All prices from this article I took from my own experience. They probably rise year to year.

Plan

1. Find a driving school
2. Sign a contract
3. Prepare some documents (biometric picture, vision test)
4. Attend for first aid course
5. Apply for a license
6. Visit all theory classes
7. Take driving classes
8. Learn all 16 themes
9. Take special classes (night drive, out of city, autobahn)
10. Pass theory exam
11. Pass practice exam
12. Send a letter to LaBo
13. Get a license!
14. Drive

--

--

Valentin
Germany 101

I post daily updates about my IndieHacker journey. From 0/y to 1m/y ARR. I write code because I can’t write a book (yet). Make videos on youtube.com/valenso