Jason Narkoff
GermanytoZinzinnati
5 min readApr 24, 2017

--

#3

Deep Thoughts with Granny

‘The Interview’

On a nice day in Athens, Georgia, I called my grandmother and interviewed her. She was in Pennridge, Pennsylvania, so the conversation was relatively short and concise but the material received was still beneficial. I interviewed my grandmother on her life as a child, and if she knew any stories of my ancestors and her grandparents coming to America and starting a life in Cinncinnati.

1: How would you describe your childhood?

It was good. I very much enjoyed family gatherings. I played with my cousins a lot who lived nearby. I enjoyed school and my friends there.

2: What relationship did you and your grandparents share and how often did you see them?

I was very close with my mom’s parents. We would get together almost every Sunday for church. Then later all my aunts, uncles and cousins would come together for Sunday Dinner.

3: Did you ever live in Cincinnati yourself and if so for how long?

No, just with my parents.

4: Where all did you live growing up?

I lived in Cincinnati from birth to age 22. From the age of 3 untill 22 I lived in the same house.

5: What made you ultimately settle in Pennsylvania?

I joined the Navy and was assigned to the Navy Hospital there, I found my husband (your grandpa) and married him. I stayed in Pennsylvania after then marriage then lived 6 years in Missouri and then went back to Pennsylvania.

6: Did you have a strong German influence in your life growing up?

I don’t think it was especially strong but certain things interested me.

7: What makes you love to travel so much?

I love to see new places, their important history and their places in history, and especially metting new people is always interesting.

8: Did you ever hear your grandparents speak about Germany?

Yes, my Grandfather came to America with his whole family: Dad, Mom, and two brothers. My grandmother came to America with an older freind and left her brother and sisters in Germany. She was never able to get back to Germany or her family never made it to America. She said that some of her possessions were taken by Hitler.

9: What is the majority language your grandparents spoke?

They spoke German at first but my Grandfather worked for the Railroad and learned English well. My mom was the oldest and spoke some German but I don’t believe my Uncles or Aunts spoke any Germany.

10: How much German influence did you parents have?

I don’t think there was a strong influence but probably a few I was not aware of, German beer was a big thing that I remember them having.

11: Did you ever learn to speak German?

I didn't learn to speak German but my brother did and he and my Grandmother would discuss things in German. When I was small my Grandmother and mother would speak in German. I would tell them when I got to be big I was going to learn “Germany” so I would know they were talking about, however I never did.

12: Did you ever eat any family recipes that were German inspired?

German potato salad- Hassenpfeffer (sweet-sour rabbit). My dad would take me in the woods by our house and he would try and find a rabbit, shoot it, bring it home, then clean it so my mom could make Hassenpfeffer. We also made German cookies called Springele all the time.

13: Can you see anything in your life now that has German roots?

I still enjoy German potato salad and Springele cookies.

14: Where was your favorite place to live throughout your life?

The places I lived I enjoyed for the various reasons at that time in my life. I wished I could have had more time in Missouri.

15: What has been your favorite place to visit on your tours?

Each one was different and there were many interesting sites, cultures, buildings etc.

16: Do you know any stories of when your family first came to the United States?

I don’t even know how my parents met but I know they met in Cincinnati. My brother would know better than me.

17: Do you have any stories that you can recall that were passed down from your parents or grandparents?

I just remember the family getting together to make home brew German beer a lot and the rabbit dinners.

18: What did you do for fun as a child?

Played with neighborhood friends, cousins when we could visit, and the community pool in the summer.

19: What relationship did you and your parents share?

Very good.

20: Was their specific holidays that were most important when you were growing up?

I enjoyed most with my parents the patriotic holidays like 4th of July, Memorial day, and Veterans day. I especially enjoyed going to the parades.

This interview may not have been the longest in recorded history, but I gathered a good amount of information that I will treasure and remember. I was relatively unappreciative of my family past before the start of this project. But looking into what my family has done and what they have been through has been extremely eye opening for me. I never realized how difficult it must’ve been to get all the way to America and settle in a place you know nothing about. Also, my grandma has an incredible life story too. She did way more than I could have ever imagined. She is one of the most intelligent and understanding ladies that I know. She is extremely nice and I have never heard her talk down on anyone or anything.

I lived in Pennsylvania my whole life, so until recently, I knew my grandma as the nice lady who lived her life 20 minutes from me also in Pennsylvania. But what I didn’t realize was that she grew up with German heritage in Cincinnati, and lived in Cincinnati for a long time. Living in Cincinnati must have been an extremely unique experience that helped shaped her life. Also, the fact that she joined the Navy to become a nurse is awesome, and also found her husband there, my grandfather. It shows her toughness that she could be in the Navy and help our country and I respect her so much for that, she truly is an inspiring lady. Lastly, it is really cool that she lived in Missouri for a while, because that is also a unique place that I truly don’t know about. I would love to go with her to Missouri to experience and see how she lived and her life there, because I am sure she has a good amount of memories and experiences that will stay with her forever.

She doesn't know a whole lot about the German heritage that her family had because she was 40 years removed from it, but I got to know a good bit about her and who she was as a person. Even if she did not have a ton of her German heritage in her life, I know that her ancestors brought over a culture that I appreciate, as my grandma is an incredible lady and someone to strive to be in all aspects of life. Forever will I look up to my grandma and I hope that when I get back to Pennsylvania from the University of Georgia, that I can sit with her and talk about her life even more.

--

--