I started and ended every day with a gratitude journal for 6 months and it changed my life

Kate Mro
Get After It Today
Published in
4 min readDec 16, 2020

2020 has been a struggle. Everyone has battled hardship in some form this year, sometimes with no end in sight.

But is it possible that even on the worst days, there is something to be grateful for?

To find out, I decided to keep a gratitude journal. There are several journals on the market with pre-written prompts for each day (The Five Minute Journal is a popular option), but any ordinary notebook will do the trick.

With inspiration from The Five Minute Journal and other gratitude journals, I wrote down three prompts to answer each morning and two each night. You can use a variation of these prompts or come up with your own, but the main objective is to brainstorm at least three things that you are truly grateful for. Examples are listed as ideas, but write whatever comes to mind, even if it seems minor.

Morning prompts:

1. I am grateful for…

  • Major: My family, my health, my home
  • Minor: Good coffee, the sunrise/sunset

2. How can I make today maximally awesome?

  • Finishing all my work for the day
  • Relaxing and watching my favorite TV show
  • Having a fun time with family

3. Affirmations (write down 2–3)

  • I am right where I am meant to be.
  • I make a difference in the lives of others.

Evening prompts:

1. Highlights of the day (list 2–3)

  • Spent time with loved ones
  • Got a promotion at work
  • Had a great workout

2. What did I learn today?

  • You can find happiness in the little things
  • I feel best when I eat healthy and stay hydrated

Tips for getting the most out of journaling

Keep the journal next to your pillow. You’ll be more likely to remember to do your journal by keeping it somewhere you can see it. After a few weeks, it becomes a habit, and you will automatically do it without a reminder.

Make the journal the first thing you do in the morning and the last thing you do at night. I used to scroll on my phone immediately after my alarm went off, and it was the last thing I saw before shutting my eyes to go to sleep. This meant I was beginning and ending each day with stress, mindlessness, and harsh light (blue light is a discussion for a different day, but has been shown to impact circadian rhythms). Instead, journaling helps begin and end each day with gratitude, mindfulness, and intention. Full transparency, I feel infinitely better after swapping my phone for the journal, and I guarantee you will too.

Keep it quick. By spending only a few minutes each morning and night on your journal, it will be easier to integrate it into your schedule. Journaling should be a positive experience, rather than a chore that takes significant time out of your day. Once in a while, “brain dumping” your thoughts onto the page can bring relief, but do not feel obligated to write a novel every time.

Benefits I have noticed

Falling asleep faster. Eliminating blue light and social media stimulation from my phone has done wonders on its own, but replacing it with positive reflection leaves me feeling fulfilled and warm on the inside. Whereas in the past I would anxiously toss and turn for hours some nights, I now peacefully doze off within minutes.

Waking up more motivated. Thoughtfully listing my “gratefuls” and planning for how to maximize my time helps kickstart my morning. Plus, having to turn on the light to write adds an extra wake-up call (again, this relates to blue light and circadian rhythms, which I won’t get into in this article).

Decreased stress, increased happiness. Intentionally focusing my attention on the things that I am thankful for brings sustainable joy and fulfillment to my life. Realizing how much there is to be grateful for brings relaxation as I start and end each day. Expressing how grateful I am for family, friends, my education, or even just having clean water has helped me recognize the abundance of blessings in my life. More importantly, I have learned to find gratitude on my worst days, which helps me stay positive through dark times.

Easier to stay positive. After six months of journaling, being able to find gratitude has become almost automatic- not just while journaling, but throughout the day. It’s easier to enjoy the highs and know that the lows will not last forever.

Take time to express gratitude

Whether or not you decide to start journaling, take time throughout the day to have gratitude and recognize the blessings in your life, no matter how small. I guarantee your life will be filled with more joy, and over time, it will be easier to find silver linings even during the dark times.

--

--

Kate Mro
Get After It Today

Milwaukee born and raised, Doctor of Physical Therapy Student and ACE - Certified Personal Trainer